July 8 – 2 Kings 9-11

Wow, reading in Kings is like reading a Hollywood movie.  I loved the way that Jehu cleaned house.  He removed all the idols, the followers of Baal and corrected all kinds of wrongs.  However, he forgot one small area… the worship of the golden calves.  I can only assume that Jehu didn’t see this as a big deal.  I love the passage that says “Because you have done well (Jehu) in accomplishing what is right in my eyes and have done to the house of Ahab all I had in mind to do, your descendants will sit on the throne of Israel to the fourth generation. Yet, Jehu was not careful to keep the law of the LORD, the God of Israel, with all his heart.  He did not turn away from the sins of Jeroboam, which he had caused Israel to commit” (the worship of the golden calves at Bethel and Dan).

Jehu had done well, and the Lord rewarded Jehu for his faithful obedience, but there is still this YET in there.  How many times in my life has there been a YET. Too many, some I am aware of and some I suspect I simply am not aware.  Unfortunately there is always a remnant of sin left behind which trips me up. I look at the world and life through human eyes, and therefore I don’t always see as I should. Things that are not okay with God slip right by me. Why? In part because I live in a world that does not follow God and some things have become acceptable and no longer raise warning signs that say, “This is really not okay”.  For example, abortion has become a way to correct our sin of sex outside of marriage – harsh I know… but so often true!  If we would align ourselves up with the Word of God and abstain from sex outside of marriage (fornication) we wouldn’t have the abortion issue.  Abortion isn’t necessarily the root sin (now stay with me here… I am not advocating abortion), but abortion is the result of that little minor in fraction, that almost inconsequential sin, of “sex outside of marriage”.  There is the root, that leads to the golden calf. One sin, that leads to another, which leads to another, and another, etc. If we stop our sin at its root our sin can no longer take on other shapes to the point we no longer see the root. Sin is sin no matter what it morphs into. We must do some serious root digging if we want to get at the heart or root of the matter.

I know there is some house cleaning I most likely need to do in my own life; some golden calves are sitting around (little roots that have morphed into golden calves, and have gone undetected) and YET, have become very much a part of my life.  Today, I will go before God in prayer and ask Him to reveal to me my golden calves; the root cause  that produced the golden calf in the first place.  I don’t want to just eradicate the bloom of the golden calf, but the root that gives it life.

May I encourage you, today, to go before God in prayer and ask Him to reveal to you any golden calves you have lying around.  Maybe it is time to “root” them out… what do you think?

Until next time – Be Encouraged!

Sandra

©All rights reserved 07-2011

Used by permission only

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 2 Kings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 8 – 2 Kings 9-11

  1. Jack Bass says:

    2 Kgs 9 The Prophet Elisha was sent by God to Anoint Jehu as King over Israel. Jehu was commanded to destroy the house of Ahab. Jehu eventually destroyed the house of Ahab and then went looking for Jezebel. He found her and she was very belligerent with him and called him names. He called to her attendants and asked who is on my side. He then asked them to throw her down to him. She splattered on the ground and like scripture says the dogs devoured her. Nothing was left but bones. chapter 10 tells the story of Jehu cleaning house so to speak. He literally killed or had killed all the members of Ahab’s family including friends, Priests or anyone else who had anything to do with King Ahab’s Kingdom. God gave instructions to kill Ahab’s family because Ahab was a bad King and they were all bad people. He even through a little trickery got all the ministers of Baal together in one place through a few falsehoods he told them so he could have them all killed because of their continual worship of Baal. Chapter 11. Tells us how God preserved the line of David by protecting a child. All these name are hard to place but we remember that Athaliah was the Daughter of King Ahab and Jesebel and she was a bad influence on both her husband and her son the King of Judah. When she saw that her son Ahaziah was dead, (He was executed by Jehu) she took power for herself and reigned the land for six years. Jesosheba, daughter of King Joram took Joash the son of Ahaziah and hid him and a nurse away for six years while the wicked Athaliah ruled the land. How and why the people of Israel let this evil woman rule is a mystery to me other than I suspect he devil had a hand in it. Joash started his reign as King when he was seven years old. God had a plan for King Davids line to be in power. In Christ. Jack.

    Father God I have such a hard time with all the names of all the kings that are mentioned in your book. Give me wisdom that I might try harder to know them and understand what they stood for. Give me patience to study and learn. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

    Like

Leave a Reply

