July 9 – 2 Kings 12-13

A post from my good friend – Jack

Chapter 12 shows us how a little boy, Joash,  seven years old was was saved from certain death, and was hid away for six years and then declared King of Israel. I believe he was the last of the line of David and God wasn’t going to let him die because of his promise to David. He turned out to be a good King for most of his reign. He had the Temple (Gods House) repaired in Jerusalem as it was in sad shape form many years of neglect. But after the priest, Jehoida died, King Joash did some evil things. He took some holy objects from the temple. He also allowed pagen worship, He allowed the people to continue to offer sacrifices and burn incense. In the end Joash’s own officials killed him.

There was so many good kings bad kings and so much evil and killings. Its hard for me to make a lot of sense to any of this. But then I look at us today and don’t see much difference in us now and them then. Sin is sin anyway you cut it and human nature hasn’t changed very much, if any, since those days. Its still pretty much evil with all the fighting and wars going on all over the planet.

Chapter 13. This chapter is about a series of Kings and most of them bad; not much of note written about them. One thing noted about them all, was all they did and their achievements, are they not written in the book of the annals of the kings of Israel? What a list of sorry Kings. I wonder how so many of the line of King David could have been so bad. I guess its like today we have good kids and bad kids. I even have that in my family.

In verses 20-21 we read where the prophet Elisha died and was buried and how Moabite raiders used to enter the country every spring. Once while some Israelite’s were burying a man, suddenly they saw a band of raiders; so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet. This indicates to me just how much power God had given this man. Even when he was dead just touching his bones was enough to bring life back to that person.

In Christ, Jack.

Father God I pray that when I read your word that my knowledge of what I read may be increased so that I might better understand. I feel inadequate when I read and don’t really know what its all about. I am sure that if I read it often enough you will reveal more to me; at least I pray so. I ask blessing on my church as well as our missionaries.

In Jesus precious name I pray. Amen.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 9 – 2 Kings 12-13

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 12 shows us how a little boy of seven years old was was saved from certain death, and was hid away for six years and then declared King of Israel. I believe he was the last of the line of David and God wasn’t going to let him die because of his promise to David. He turned out to be a good King for most of his reign. He had the Temple (Gods House) repaired in Jerusalem as it was in sad shape form many years of neglect. But after the priest, Jehoida died, King Joash did some evil things. He took some holy objects from the temple. He also allowed pagen worship, He allowed the people to continue to offer sacrifices and burn incense. In the end Joash’s own officials killed him. There was so many good kings bad kings and so much evil and killings. Its hard for me to make a lot of sense to any of this. But then I look at us today and don’t see much difference in us now and them then. Sin is sin any way you cut it and human nature hasn’t changed very much if any since those days. Its still pretty much evil with all the fighting and wars going on all over the planet. Chapter 13. This chapter is about a series of Kings and most of them Bad Kings and not much of note written about them. One thing noted about them all, was all they did and Their achievements, are they not written in the book of the annals of the kings of Israel? What a list of sorry Kings. I wonder how so many of the line of King David could have been so Bad. I guess its like today we have good kids and bad kids. I even have that in my family. In verses 20-21 we read where the prophet Elisha died and was buried and how Moabite raiders used to enter the country every spring. Once while some Israelite’s were burying a man, suddenly they saw a band of raiders; so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet. This indicates to me just how much power God had given this man. Even when he was dead just touching his bones was enough to bring life back to that person. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God I pray that when I read your word that my knowledge of what I read may be increased so that I might better understand. I feel inadequate when I read and don’t really know what its all about. I am sure that if I read it often enough you will reveal more to me. At least I pray so. I ask blessing on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus precious name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

