July 10 – 2 Kings 14, 2 Chr 25

A post from my good friend Jack.

These two books are almost the same reading. 2 Chr 25 being a little more detailed. We have another chapter with Kings fighting and killing each other off and for what other than a little more gold and silver which I’m sure they didn’t need anyway.

Details of some of the Kings are not written in the book of the kings of Judah and Israel. King Amaziah who did that which was right in the sight of the Lord murdered this fathers’ murderers. He killed 10,000 people; another 10,000 he left alive to throw off a cliff;  they all were broken in pieces. It seems cruel to me that you could just push people off a cliff to their destruction. If they were killed in combat I could see that but push them off a cliff that seems barbaric to me. I know God has his ways and I can’t question them but I still wonder.

I remember reading when he brought his people into the promised land and told them explicitly to kill everyone and not to leave any behind because they would pollute his people;  they did when the Israelis didn’t listen to what God and left some alive. Perhaps if we look at the problems today in those lands if the people had paid more attention to what he told them they wouldn’t have the problems they do today.

I love the Lord and although I bring up questions in my mind I know that God is love because He gave his son on the cross for my sins and it doesn’t get any better than that. What an expression of love for me and you.Without it we wouldn’t have the hope of eternal salvation.

In Christ, Jack.

Father God my love for you grows each day. I must confess I don’t always understand all that I read but I know you love me because of w hat you did at Calvary. Bless me with more understanding of what I read in the scriptures. Bless my church and all its people. I also ask blessings on our missionaries around the world.

In Jesus name I pray.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

