July 13 – Isaiah 1-4

Today, we begin a new book – the book of Isaiah; a little background for you, before we begin.

Isaiah was a prophet of God. He proclaims a message of judgment and salvation to both Judah and the Northern Kingdom of Israel.  Isaiah told the people of Judah that God would surely punish them for their sins, but he also said that Judah would survive and a remnant of the population would someday return to the land.

Through Isaiah God promised many things, including peace, a Messiah and a future glorious kingdom. One generation hears the promises, another generation experiences the fruition of those promises; generations yet to come will witness the ultimate kingdom of peace. Though time passes and generations are born, live and then die.  God’s faithfulness and promises endure.

The book of Isaiah was written by the prophet himself. It was written to the people of Judah and Israel.  It was written between 740 and 680 BC. The Prophet Isaiah came to give the message of hope, while warning the people of Judah and Israel that they would be punished if they continued their evil ways and to assure God’s people that he would also comfort them, and bring hope and restoration.

In chapters 1-4 I think the key verse is found in 2:22 “Stop trusting in man, who has but a breath in his nostrils, Of what account is he? I would add the word self to that as well. When we say man we seem to think of others, and this applies to us well.  When will we stop trusting in man? When will we stop putting our trust in the process and the things of the world?  When will we stop putting our trust in us?

And the big question is,” When will we begin to put our trust in God”?

Until next time be encouraged,

Sandra

Tomorrow’s reading is Isaiah 5-8

Please note:  If you have a need for prayer, send me an email or leave a comment; I will be most happy to take your request/need before the one who is able to do exceedingly more than we can hope for or imagine.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Isaiah. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 13 – Isaiah 1-4

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 1 Isaiah the Prophet is telling Israel all the bad things that they have done to anger the Lord. He calls them a sinful Nation and they were very sinful. They committed about all the evil ugly things that can be imagined. He tells them in verse 9 that if God hadn’t been good to them they would be like Sodom and Gomorrah. In verse 11 he tells them there continued burnt offering and sacrifices are worthless to him because they are not sincere. Sometimes I wonder if we are just giving him lip service like they were. In verse 16-20 he tells them to wash themselves and make themselves clean he also says stop doing wrong, Help the widow. He says if they are earnest in what they do he will restore all things to them but if they continue in their ways he will punish them greatly. The rest of the chapter is telling them what will happen if they don’t change their ways. Chapter 2 Verse 1 Isaiah tells of his vision of what will happen to Israel and Judah. He tells of the last days that all nations will rush to his temple. The last days are something we all need to pay attention to. I feel like they could come at any time. All Prophesies have been fulfilled for it to happen any day. Isaiah is giving the people a taste of what will happen. The rest of the chapter tells of all the terrible things the Lord will do to them if they don’t change their ways. Chapter 3 continues with what the Lord is about to do if the people don’t straighten up and fly right. He also tells of the wonders that he will give and do for the ones that listen and obey his words. Chapter 4 is a little of the last chapter with the admonition of the worldly and immoral daughters of Zion. There must have been a lot of shady ladies that he is talking about and to. I feel like the chapter also is a foretelling of the coming of Jesus and how wonderful things will be when he comes.

    Father God instill in me more of your enduring love as I know you are perfect in all that you say and do. I know if I follow your words that all will be OK with me. Never let your holy spirit stray from me for I now that as long as he is there things will be OK. I seek blessing on my church as well as our Missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

    Like

  2. Janice Anaya says:

    If love is the core of Christianity, it seems that trusting in God must run a close second. In many of the groups and topics I have been involved in, trusting in God is huge. I have made it a goal in my life to get to the point with God that when He says “Go ahead and fall backwards, I’ll catch you”…..that I don’t even hesitate…that I know He will be there….without a doubt. That’s my goal and I know I have a lot of work aheqd of me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

