July 14 – Isaiah 5-8

I don’t really have much to say about today’s reading other than “Woe”.  All the woes listed in chapter 5 could easily fit into today.  I think it might be wise to pay attention to some to these things, or we may quickly find ourselves saying “Woe”

Until next time

Sandra

Tomorrow’s reading is Amos 1-5

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 14 – Isaiah 5-8

  1. Jack Bass says:

    I think the one verse that stood out for me is when Isaiah answers God and says “here I am send me”. This should be our response when we feel God calling us to do something or we see someone in need and we are able to help. We all need to be willing to answer His call.

    Lord help me to be willing to answer Your call and to be ready to give an answer when called to share my faith.
    God Bless
    Marian

    Like

  2. Jack Bass says:

    This chapter 5 starts with Isaiah comparing the nation of Israel to a vineyard where grapes are like people. God prepared the soil so that it would be a wonderful vineyard or country but somewhere along the way from neglect the vineyard produced nothing worthwhile. This is what happened to the Israeli people for after all God has done for them they refuse to live by his mandates and always do their own thing. Verses 5-30 tell of whats going to happen to Israel because of their unfaithfulness. Its not a pretty picture as God is very angry and will deal with them harshly. Chapter 6 verses 1-4 tells us of the majesty of God as seen through the eyes of Isaiah. As described by Isaiah it had to be a sight that’s hard for us as humans to behold. God setting on his throne with the train of his Garment filling the Temple. Isaiah thought he was doomed because he had seen the Lord and he had unclean lips. I would think that means he is a sinner. The Lord asked who do I send and Isaiah said here am I send me. The rest of the chapter is about what God told Isaiah he must do and that was for him to go to all the cities and tell the people what the Lord was going to do to them. And it wasn’t pleasant. Chapter 7 The most important thing about this chapter is that Isaiah is telling about the birth of Christ and that he will be born to a virgin girl. Chapter 8 This book is a masterpiece of literature in that it was written 700 years before Christ. I feel like it described how humans react to authority in a negative way. God has a perfect plan if we are just smart enough to accept it. Isaiah was a prophet who describes life in a way like no other. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God allow me a humble heart that I might be able to accept all that is written in this book for I know your word is real and all of it is meant for my benefit. You are a loving God and want what is best for me. Bless my church as well as our missionaries around the world. In Jesus most precious name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

