July 20 – Isaiah 13-17

In Chapter 13 and 14 Isaiah tells the future of Babylon.  In other places we see that Israel will be taken captive and live in captivity for many years. Here we see that Babylon, her captors, will be taken care of and the oppression brought on by captivity will end; the Israelites will once again find a semblance of rest and peace. (14:7). Once again the Lord will have compassion; once again He will choose Israel and will settle them in their own land. (14:1) If you go back through time and history you will discover that this is exactly what happened. However, Babylon is not the only one mentioned who will be brought down. In the remaining chapters we see that Moab and Damascus will be taken to task, also.

In all this there must have been a few people who really were following God, even though the nation as a whole was corrupt and evil.  Those few that were doing their best to follow the LORD, who suffered the same consequences of those in captivity and exile, how their hearts must of cried out for relief and for justice.  How they must have cried out for rest and peace to come.  I can’t help but wonder if some even questioned their own lives as if to doubt that they were truly following the Lord. And sadly, I couldn’t help but wonder if in the midst of all this horribleness if some even questioned the existence of Yahweh.  How could a loving God leave them in such dark despair?  I am sad to say in my dark hours I have had similar doubts and questions. There must have been many times when God’s people wondered will it ever end.  And here in these chapters Isaiah delivers a strong message; a message of deliverance from oppression once again for His people.

The message for me in these chapters – I may mess up royally but God is faithful.  I may have to suffer the consequences of my own or others actions, but God is always in the midst. No matter the circumstances I find myself in I need never be without hope and God will always come through.  The question is…. “Is my faith strong enough, is my faith deep enough, and is my faith active enough to carry me through those very tough, dark times?”

Until next time – Be Encouraged

Sandra

Tomorrow’s reading Isaiah 18-22

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 20 – Isaiah 13-17

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 13 I feel like is about when Gods anger roars toward his chosen people and in fact the entire world. I feel like this is his warning that end times are coming. This is all about the beginning of end times when God will take his wrath out on all nations. There will be no place to run of hide when this all happens. Chapter 14. Now here we go again. God has given Israel a reprieve and is again blessing them. I am sure this will be short lived because they just can’t seem to get it that Jesus is God and they need to understand that fact. I feel like verses 12 through 15 is speaking of what lies in store for the devil as his punishment for all the evil in him. Chapter 15 Is about the judgment of God on the Moabites for them not worshiping him as the one and only God. They will run from his wrath but can’t escape. They try to take their possessions with them but that’s not whats important anyway. Their safety net would be excepting God as the one and only. I did a little research on the Moabites and they were descendants of Lot which explains a lot to me. Chapter 16 The Moabites just can’t seem to get it that they must yield to Gods power and know him as king in their lives. They must learn that the keys to forgiveness is yielding to Jesus as the power behind the throne of grace. Chapter 17 is about Moab finally seeking help but from the wrong source. They are praying to their own perceived Gods. The real God has been punishing them because of their not recognizing him as the one and only God. Their complete stubbornness to seek him as God. This still goes on today with the folks in the Muslim nations refusing to know anyone as God except Mohammad. All the countries surrounding Israel are of that faith and one day God will get his revenge on all them. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God I come this morning in complete humbleness to you and your son Jesus. I know that you are the one and only ones and I bow to you with complete respect. Now I come seeking you blessings would touch the nations that don’t know you as God and that they would come to the realization that you are the one and only God. If they would only bow down and know that you are the only God who can save their souls from Hell. Father continue to love me even with all my shortcomings. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

