July 26 – Isaiah 28-30

In today’s reading I was stopped, to ponder, in a couple of places; both of them in chapter 28. Beginning in 28:12 “to whom he said, ‘This is the resting place, let the weary rest’: and, ‘This is the place of repose’- but they would not listen. So then, the word of the Lord to them will become: Do and do, do and do … so that they will go and fall backward, be injured and snared and captured.”

I couldn’t help but wonder the times I have ignored the place of repose; my time spent with the Lord each day! How many times have I gotten so caught up in doing that  God has gotten lost in the shuffle. There are always indications of this as I begin feel overwhelmed and I use phrases like “I need a vacation!” but, what I really mean is a year long sabbatical or a permanent release from the job at hand. Or the phrase “I just cannot do this anymore, I need a break” only to keep right on plugging through doing and doing and doing and doing.

I believe there are times when I have not listened to that wee small voice and as a result there have been times when I too have fallen backwards, been snared by the enemy and been captured.  Oh, not in the sense that Israel and Judah will be, but nevertheless very much snared, very much hostage.

The devil is quite good in keeping us busy.  And he is quite good at keeping us busy doing the “Lord’s work”; or is it really the Lord’s work when it leads to do and do, do and do? Is it really the Lord’s work when He never asked us to do it? Is it really the Lord’s work when the truth be known it isn’t about God at all – – – It is really all about us, you and me!  (I loved how Isaiah spoke this – do and do and do and do and do and do. I can almost hear the nations saying “enough already!”  I know I wanted to shout enough! And I was simply reading the text). 🙂

The devil has another unique way of holding as captive and keeping us prisoner (and that leads me to the 2nd stopping place).  When the devil can cause us to become fearful and lose our determination our resolve to keep hanging in for the Lord.  Isaiah uses the word dismayed in verse 16. Dismayed – to cause to lose courage or resolution (because of alarm or fear).  Resolution in this case means the loss of our determination.   We lose are resolve to keep moving on; we become frozen because of fear – aka taken captive by the enemy.

Translation for me is the enemy gets me doing, doing, doing, and I buy into the concept of 150% because after all it’s for the Lord right? It doesn’t matter that I haven’t really asked if I should be doing it or not.  Then I become tired, overwhelmed and burned out… needing a vacation – meaning I really need a 6 month or more break… So what stops me? That would be fear! “What will they think of me if I quit?” (fear)… “Who will fill in and take this job or task on?” – translation “someone else will fill these shoes and I won’t be wanted anymore (fear). Or, worse “They will like them better.” (fear).  They will discover that I am not so great after all at what I do (fear).  Oh and here is my favorite one “But Lord what on earth will I do?”  Translation, I have no value if I am not doing.  I have no self-worth if I am sitting quietly at the feet of Jesus for awhile and doing nothing else! And the list could go on and on.

The answer –  is found in this same section – the one who trusts in the cornerstone, Jesus, will not be dismayed.  In other words I need to stop trusting in self – all those statements that were fear based above, if you go back and read them you also discover they were all about me statements and trusting in self statements – I need to put all my trust in the Lord.  If I would do that, then I would not be fearful, I would not lose courage, and while I would be doing .. it would not be do and do and do and do and do and do.  My doing would not be aimless – it would have purpose.  My doing would have balance. There would be plenty of time for rest as I would visit the place of repose often. The place of repose for me, is daily quiet time with Jesus.

I would suspect that like me you all have a little bit of do and do and do and do going on in your life.  May I challenge you today, to take some time to sit at the feet of Jesus and visit the place of repose before you too become captive from the doing.

Until next time – Be encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Isaiah. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 26 – Isaiah 28-30

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Isaiah 28 he is telling Ephraim (One of the tribes of Israel) of what is about to happen to them because of their unbelief and drunkenness. Its pride is about to be taken care of and its beauty will be destroyed. He is speaking to the priests and Prophets but I feel like the message is to all the people because of the seriousness of drunkenness. Verses 16-19 He is trying to tell the people that God is about to send a savior in the form of his son Jesus and they refuse to listen to him. They instead say he speaks like they are children. He tells them unless they listen and obey God will destroy their land.

    Chapter 29 Tells of Ariel (Jerusalem) being destroyed. At first read that’s what I thought but found out that he was just going to punish them with other methods. He is telling them in so many words follow me or face the consequences. And they won’t be pretty. He is telling them they will be punished ( I’M not sure if this means the Jews will be punished or the ones fighting against them might be punished) because he will allow other Nations to come against them but he will not allow any another nation to conquer Jerusalem. This chapter is big on Spiritual blindness. That kind of blindness comes from not following Gods words and can only be healed by Gods Grace.

    Chapter 30. Starts with God exposing the sins of those who put their trust in Egypt. He is letting them know that the Pharaoh can not protect them from his anger. In fact no one can protect them from God because he sees all and hears all. They just don’t seem to understand that God is real and can help them if they pay attention to what he says of likewise he can hurt them if they don’t. God made other promises in Verses 12-14 he promised that because Judah trusted in Egypt instead of him everything will be broken or collapsed. Judah will be like a collapsed wall and Judah will be like a shattered Clay pot. If only these people would listen to God through this Prophet how well off they would be but they were extremly stubborn and just wouldn’t listen and all the problems they have and still have till this very day.

    Father God. Help me to become a better, wiser and more loving man with my heart full of love for my fellow man. Fill me with your message that I might better share it with all I come in contact with. Be with my church and the sick within. Bless our missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

