July 29 – Isaiah 37-39 and Psalm 76

As I read the passages in Isaiah today, I was struck by the thoughts of Hezekiah and his conversation with God. As I read Hezekiah’s writing a thought struck me, Jesus had not come yet!

Okay not news I know… but I couldn’t help but wonder what their thought of death was like for them. We have the hope of eternity with God because Jesus has come, died and rose again. We have the hope of eternity because of the teachings we have learned about Jesus and why He came. We have a picture of eternity because we have the Bible the whole story revealed to us by the Holy Spirit.  (Not that I understand it all).  Hezekiah and those in Isaiah’s time did not have those yet. They had God who spoke to them through the prophets and sometimes directly.  They had the temple but it would have been so different than our concept and understanding today. We have the Holy Spirit who lives within us revealing to us the very nature of God.  They did not!  Those living in Old Testament time, those living in Isaiah’s time did not have the concept of eternity, not yet, not as we do.

So, I can’t help but wonder what their concept of death was like.

I don’t have answers today. Only questions.  And perhaps a greater understanding 🙂

Until next time – Be Encouraged!

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Isaiah. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 29 – Isaiah 37-39 and Psalm 76

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 37. You might get the impression form this chapter that Hezekiah was a little bit angry at the King of Assyria belittling him and his God. He knew the power of God and also knew if it was Gods will that the King and his false Gods would be destroyed or at least sent home with their tail between their legs. Later on in the chapter the devil speaking through the Assyrian King is trying to scare Hezekiah into not resisting them and told him that all the other nations they had conquered had thrown away all their Gods and gave up. Hezekiah told him the Gods they had thrown away was made of human materials and wasn’t a real God like his was, so beware don’t mess with me and my people or you more than likely will be toast. Later on in the chapter beginning with verse 21 the King of Assyria is told what will happen to him and his army and it did. God sent the angel of death and the angel put to death 185,000 of the Kings troops. Like I said before the King tucked his tail between and fled the country.

    Chapter 38. I find this chapter to be a little strange with Hezekiah fearing for his life after God had spoke through Isaiah told him to get his house in order for he was going to die. Hezekiah begged God to spare him and give him more life. If I look at it like it is though and relate it to my life I am thinking that Jesus will take me up to heaven when its time but there is always that little bit of Doubt and I suspect that’s what was going through Hezekiah’s mind.

    Chapter 39. Hezekiah made a serious mistake when he showed off the treasures the Lord had given him without presenting this whole Idea to Isaiah or God. He went ahead with showing off for a representative of the King of Babylon. Isaiah then told him he would lose all the treasures to Babylon and Hezekiah didn’t seem to concerned as he though he would be dead before it happened. Not to cool of an attitude to have concerning what God had gave him. Hezekiah had always been a good and Godly King till this event took place. God had given him additional years of life but the added years did not make him a better or more Godly man.

    Ps 76. Is speaking praises to God and also showing us the need to fear him. I feel like a little fear of the Lord is a natural thing and is something we all need just to keep us in the right frame of mind. I now that unbelievers criticize us for doing that. They say if there is a God why does he allow bad things to happen and for that I really don’t have an answer other that God is God and his decisions are just and right. I personally don’t Question that.

    Father God bless me with enough smarts to know when the devil is playing with my head. I know he is always present and trying his best to sway Christians into doing his will. Give me the strength to resist him and just tell him to get away from me. Somewhat like Jesus had to do with Peter. When I feel his presence within me I actually yell Get away from me Satan. I don’t want you bothering me. I seek blessings for my church as well as our missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

