July 30 – Isaiah 40-43

Dear Friends

I thought I would use today’s reading to show you that, from my perspective, no matter where you are reading God can speak to you.  I have read chapter 40 in Isaiah on several occasions.  Like many of you I am very familiar with the passage that says,” but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary,they will walk and not be faint.”  I have found great delight and strength in that passage on several occassions.  But today I found comfort and a promise that I am going to claim for me today.  It is Isaiah 41:10-13

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

11 “All who rage against you
will surely be ashamed and disgraced;
those who oppose you
will be as nothing and perish.
12 Though you search for your enemies,
you will not find them.
Those who wage war against you
will be as nothing at all.
13 For I am the LORD, your God,
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.

You see there is a possibility that I will be facing some challenges in the near future.  I don’t know yet… but it is a possibility as my email address may have been compromised.  I won’t give you all the details other than it can happen no matter how much you try to be savvy and smart.  As a result I have two options; the first leave the technological age and do everything the old fashioned way.  Doable but not practical, and if I do that – the enemy wins!  Or I can make some wise changes to thwart any damage in the future and trust in the Lord.  I am choosing the later.

While those promises in the passages for today’s reading were written for a different time and for a different people.  I believe that they were also given to me, for me, today!  I was praying asking God for wisdom and bemoaning my stupidity and then I come to these verses.  They literally leaped off the page as if to say…. Sandra “I’ve Got It!”.

Until tomorrow – Be encouraged.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 30 – Isaiah 40-43

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 40. Isaiah starts with words of comfort for the people of Jerusalem. I believe he is telling them of the coming of Jesus. He sends a servant. Jesus told the apostles that he comes as a servant. Man and his glory is temporary while God is everlasting. We must always remember that God is Comfort, God can handle all things when we can’t, God can forgive when we can’t, God is always there when we need him. I want to always rely on him and not be afraid of anything the world dishes out. Isaiah drives home the point with questions to the people that only God can answer. My belief is God can do anything since he created everything. I feel like if I stay true to God keeping my faith and believe he will reward me with eternal life and I think that is what its all about.

    Chapter 41. God is telling his people to be quiet and wait on him. He speaks of his power and all the great things he has done and of the things that have never been done before. He speaks of all the disbelief and all the pagan images they have worshiped. He speaks about choosing Israel as his people. He explains that no matter what may happen and how far they stray form him that they will always be his people and he will always love them. He tells them that he will protect them forever and no harm will come that he doesn’t allow. All he demands in return is their faith and love of him. We must remember that God is in control there is nothing bigger than him and nothing that he can’t overcome. Another thing is he loves us all very much and wants us all to do well.

    Chapter 42. This chapter is a great example of Gods love for us. He is sending Jesus to form a new covenant with us. He is saying that he is our ultimate protector. My thought is we all certainly need protection form the Devil and God provides that if we but ask. I don’t know about you but I sometimes have doubts if I am good enough to eventually be with Jesus. But then once again if I humble myself and I ask Jesus in prayer he will push those Demons from my head and he will remain in my heart to always protect me. I am so glad I have Jesus in my heart and know he is there protecting me right now.

    Chapter 43. God is telling them through Isaiah that he is the one and only God there was none before him and there will be none after him. He also notes that he will provide a savior and that can’t be done by anyone else. He tells all that he will destroy Babylon even though they are mighty. He reminds them of his bringing them out of Egypt but also tells them not to dwell on that for he is about to do something that will make that look small. He is about to return them to the promised land after their Babylonian experience. This promise was fulfilled in 1948 when the UN recognized them as a Nation. All Prophesies from the scriptures have been fulfilled and Jesus can come back at anytime. All the bible says about this event is be ready. God is great and I will always worship him and love him for what he did when he sent Jesus to die on the cross and give us all the promise of eternal life.

    Father God you are great and my love for you grows each and every day. The more I read of your wonders and your love for the rebellious Israelis I actually feel like I do have a chance of your forgiveness for all my sins and the hope of one day being with you in Heaven. I ask for your blessings on my church and for all our missionaries. In Jesus precious name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

