August 4 – Isaiah 54-58

These chapters have such great promises and wisdom in them.  So often we are tempted to blame God for all the bad stuff in our lives. For the stuff that doesn’t go our way, for the challenges that we face day-to-day, etc. And yet we are told here in Isaiah that “If anyone attacks us, it will not be God’s doing.  That whoever attacks us will surrender to us, that no weapon forged against us will prevail and that we will refute every tongue that accuses us. “This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and this is the vindication from me, declares the Lord.”  As you read this you may be thinking that this is more about battle than life. But, aren’t we all in a battle?  Think about that for a moment.  The devil is always prowling around wanting us to struggle, to become discouraged and to not trust in what we cannot see. But God says, those who are His servants, His children, His believers, those who trust in Him, will triumph by His hand.

In chapter 55 we are invited to come – “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters: and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! …. “Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the riches of fare.” And the chapter goes on.

As I look at these passages and these chapters I am reminded that vindication does not necessarily come in the way I expect and most often not in the timing for which I want it to happen.

With regards to being thirsty – As a result of our economy today there are many who have lost jobs and do not know from where their next meal may be coming; some are anxious and fretful while others have peace. The difference between the two… I see two things.  One those who know God and follow His ways understand that God is in control and that like it says in Isaiah we have a strong heritage.  They live an eternal focused life – A Jesus centered life.

Secondly they do not live by worldly standards.  They don’t have the most expensive home money could buy; but they do have a roof over their heads to keep them dry and walls to protect them from the elements and home filled with the things that God will use for His eternal purposes. They don’t drive a brand new car yet they are able to get where they need to go and do what they need to do. They aren’t fashion label conscious (buying a “Coach” purse is not in their realm of wants) and they are good stewards of what God has provided.   They have plenty and they have plenty to give and share with others.  (By the world stands they would not be considered wealthy or even upper class; but poor souls who have not much.  But they are rich in ways the world will never understand.  They have all they need and they have a life rich in the LORD!  They like Paul have learned to be content; “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12 A secret I am still learning in my life; even today!

Until next time – be encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Isaiah. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 4 – Isaiah 54-58

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Chapter 54. This chapter is very hard to understand and I will do some research to do my best to make sense of it. God is speaking to Israel as Israel was his wife. Isaiah uses the term barren woman to relate the shame of Israel being held by the Babylonians and the shame they bore. In Those days a woman who had no children was looked on with shame. He is telling her how she will be restored. He is making them promises of freeing them from the Babylonians and when he acts they will have to expand their living space. His promise to them is they will never be humiliated again and he will never be angry or rebuke them again. God reveals so much love for his people in this chapter. Chapter

    55 This chapter is all about the grace of God being given to us free of charge. All he wants in return is our love, Our obedience and respect for his laws. He gave us Jesus who gave his life for us in return for all of that. Later on in the reading of the chapter he speaks of his thoughts not being like our thoughts. God certainly doesn’t think like we do. We get into trouble when we we think we are thinking like God because we are told in scripture we are made in the image of God. I know for sure my thought pattern is nothing like my Lord thinks. I pray for just a small amount of his wisdom everyday. We can relate to Gods thoughts but we can never master them.

    Chapter 56. In this chapter I really like how God gives warnings to those who disobey him. He speaks harshly to the watchmen who are supposed to be on guard. At the same time he will not be angry forever. The fact that God would love us and understands just how much the human spirit can take blows my mind.
    He knows the human spirit and mind and rightfully so because he designed us all and I think he did a great job. I just wish that he had kept the Devil with him in Heaven rather than banning him along with his angels to earth to bother us. I feel like God is better equipped to handle him than I am.

    Chapter 57 This starts off with how the good people, The upright people, devout people and the righteous people die and no one seems to care. But its explained with these words The righteous perish, and no one takes it to heart; the devout are taken away, and no one understands that the righteous are taken away to be spared from evil. Those who walk uprightly enter into peace; they find rest as they lie in death. That don’t sound to bad to me. The rest of the chapter is dedicated to the ungodly of the earth. The chapter ends with There is no peace, says my God, for the wicked.

    Chapter 58. Starts out with the people whining that God doesn’t pay attention when they are trying to follow his laws. They are whining about him not noticing when they humble themselves and fast. He quickly rebukes them by telling them they are not fasting at all when they mistreat others and they even go so far as to strike others with their fists when things aren’t going their way. God sums it up this way in verses 13-14. If you keep your feet from breaking the Sabbath and from doing as you please on my holy day, f you call the Sabbath a delight and the LORD’s holy day honorable, and if you honor it by not going your own way and not doing as you please or speaking idle words,then you will find your joy in the LORD, and I will cause you to ride in triumph on the heights of the land and to feast on the inheritance of your father Jacob.” For the mouth of the LORD has spoken. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God. Give me what it takes to not be a whiner or a person who brags about how good I am and how I always honor my God. I know there are times I fail you and for that I am truly sorry. Father I know I am a sinner and sometimes the devil has his way with me. I try to resist but there are times when I don’t succeed. Forgive me when this happens. I love you lord and yearn for the day when I am with you in Heaven. I seek blessing on my church and our missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

