August 7 – 2 Kings 20-21

A synopsis from my very good friend Jack; thank you Jack

Chapter 20  Starts with King Hezekiah being very sick and the Prophet Isaiah comes to him to tell him to get his house in order for he was about to die. Hezekiah pleading in prayer with God to let him live a while longer and God answering his prayer with fifteen more years.

This chapter tells me that God does indeed hear our prayers and if we ask in faith he will answer. Verses 12-20 show us how foolish Hezekiah had become when he showed all of treasures he possessed to the envoys of the King of Babylon. I feel like he was just showing off with his pride taking the best of him trying to prove how smart he was and forgetting God has a hand in all the possessions  they had acquired and in other words he didn’t give God the praise he deserved.

I feel like sometimes I am guilty of this. Sometimes we think we have done it all by ourselves and if we do that with those thoughts in our heads to gain applause from men and not giving praise to God then it is sin in Gods eyes and we will probably be punished for it is some way. When Isaiah heard of what Hezekiah had done in giving away where all the treasures were he immediately told Hezekiah how stupid he was in doing this because he would eventually lose all the treasures he had to Babylon and we all know he did with the capture of the Babylonians and the exile to Babylon.

Chapter 21 Here comes another bad King. The son of Hezekiah, Manasseh became King when he was twelve years of age and was king for fifty five years. Bad deal because I feel like that’s way to to young for anyone to rule a nation and that is proven in this chapter. He immediately resumed all the bad practices that had taken place before his father Hezekiah had driven them all out when he became King. To say God was not mad about all the idolatry that was taking place under Manasseh would be taking it lightly. He was so mad he destroyed Jerusalem as he said he would like wiping out a dish. He also allowed them to be overrun and taken over by their enemies. How can a son of someone so good turn out to be someone so bad.

I might look at my own family for the answer to that question. Of course I am not saying that I was all that bad. We will let God be the judge of that. I have asked many times for his forgiveness and I feel like my prayers has been answered. I will keep asking though just in case. In Christ, Jack

Father God. Instill in my heart a true love for you and your word. Don’t allow me to stray from you even for a moment. I know how easy to slip over and let the devil get a foothold if I am not constantly on guard. My love for you is strong and the devil knows it but he still attempt’s to sway me in every way possible. Protect me from him. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

 

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

