2 Chronicles 32-33

A synopsis by Jack Bass –

Chapter 32 Is about King Hezekiah’s faith that God will see them through the threatened invasion of Jerusalem by King Sennacherib the king of Assyria. In preparation for the invasion however he blocked all the water sources to the city so if they did invade they would find no water. He also fortified the wall to the city and put watch towers on the wall. The King of Assyria sent envoys to Jerusalem to soften them up with lies about how no one had stood up to their might and if all they had to rely on was a God then they were in much trouble because they had taken many countries who relied on their Gods. Of course they had never faced the one an only God before just false Gods that had been made by human hands. King Hezekiah prayed to God about all this  and God sent his angel into the Assyrian camp and killed many of their Army and they fled back to their own country. No one is as mighty as our God the same God who protected Jerusalem. He will certainly protect all of us if we only ask and follow him and his laws. He sent his son Jesus to protect us and to die for us.

Chapter 33. This chapter is almost word for word of the book of 2 Kings Kings we just read. The difference being was King Manasseh started out bad like in 2 Kings but later on after God had allowed the Assyrians to take him prisoner and put a hook in his nose. (Ouch) I bet that hurt. The King didn’t like this one bit and decided to try prayer. He prayed and made many promises to God and God heard his prayer and answered. God took him back to Jerusalem and King Manasseh served God faithfully from then tell he died. Manasseh’s son Amon took over when his dad died and immediately started the same evil practices his dad had done when he became King. The only difference between the father and son was King Amon never humbled himself to God like his father had done. He was killed by his own officials.

Do you suppose that was a coincidence or do you feel like I do that God had a hand in that also.

Father God allow me freedom to do what is right in your eyes. I don’t want to fail you. You are perfect and I am certainly not because I am a sinner. My love for you is real and I want one day to be with you in Heaven. Keep me on the straight and narrow as I plod along this rocky road of life. I as blessings on my church and our missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

 

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

