August 12 – Jeremiah 1-3

I am excited to be reading in the Book of Jeremiah.

Jeremiah was a prophet of God who prophesied to the people of God that they were on a path of destruction and exile in a foreign land.  At the same time he was telling them of their plight. he was also telling them that God had a plan to forgive and restore; a plan of hope.

Jeremiah delivers some hard messages to God’s people.  Jeremiah was a prophet who followed God pretty much to the letter and yet we will see that even so, Jeremiah had some tough times where he dealt with feeling so defeat, depression and questioning, just what am I doing here.

Perhaps I am excited about reading the book of Jeremiah, because is some ways the feelings of Jeremiah are mine and even though I have not been given the difficult and challenging tasks that Jeremiah was given I can’t help but wonder “Just what am I doing here?”.  And the flip side of this coin, I am afraid, might just be that I am as guilty as God’s people in turning my back on the Lord whom I profess to serve.

Jeremiah 1 – 3

The call of Jeremiah “The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations. “  Jeremiah was very young when called him.  See vs. 6 – I really love the very first chapter of this book. For you see God’s call on Jeremiah’s life.  You see Jeremiah, question some and then come to understand and accept, and you see God’s training of Jeremiah as he is about to go forth as a prophet of God.

God does each of these things for us.  In fact you could easily place your name in place of Jeremiah’s here in these chapters.  Oh the call would be different, the questions you ask would most likely be different, and the training would most likely come from others as God worked through them. But the premise and action is still the same.  The outcome will depend on our response; on my response.

The question for today is… “How have you responded or are you responding to God’s call on your life at this moment?”

Until tomorrow – Be Encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Jeremiah. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 12 – Jeremiah 1-3

  1. julieannlove says:

    Knowing God knit me in my mother’s womb is one of my favorite verses. I went to my daughter in law’s ultra sound appointment with her when she was pregnant with the twins. It is amazing of course. But what is really amazing? When you watch an ultra sound live, you are actually WATCHING God create a new little person. That little person is being created while you watch. God is knitting. In front of your eyes. Amazing amazing.
    Love that He loves us with an everlasting love!

    Julie Love

    Like

    • Sandra Perdew says:

      Julie… thanks for taking time to leave a comment. I always love to hear how God’s Word touches the lives of others. It truly is amazing to think that God knew us in the womb. That our relationship started at the very beginning of who we were. It is very humbling and totally mind-blowing all at the same time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

