August 22 – Jeremiah 35-37

A Synopsis by Jack Bass

Chapter 35 This chapter tells me just how much of the Bible I have read before I started this Bible in a year project and also I had never heard a preacher speak of or about  this tribe of people who lived during this time frame. They were a tribe of Nomads who lived by rules laid out for them by a leader or possibly an ancestor named Jehonadab.  I’M not sure who he was but he must have had a great influence on them because he told them they were never to drink wine, build houses, plant vineyards and they were to always live in tents. They had always obeyed what Jehonadab  had instructed them to do. Comforts of home they never knew. After Nebuchadnezzar invaded the land and scattered the Israelis these people lived in what was left of Jerusalem. God spoke to Jeremiah and told him tell the people of Judah of these people’s faith and their obedience to what was told them by a leader of theirs. What faith and obedience they had and God told Jeremiah to tell his people of this and also tell them that they might learn a lesson from this. God had been trying for a long time to get the people of Judah to listen to him and so far he had not been listened to. This is a little side note that when I was in Syria visiting my son who is a school teacher and was working in Aleppo Syria at the time. He took my wife and I way out into the desert to a town called Palmyra or something like that. Palmyra was an oasis. It was a watering spot on the old silk road the Chinese used thousands of years ago While  there we saw a tribe like this. My son told me they were Nomads and some were shepherds. They lived in tents and wandered from place to place. I even observed when they had to go to the bathroom they just wandered out away from the tents and went to the bathroom whether it be a bush or a sand dune.

Chapter 36 is a story that tells me just how stupid a King Jehoiakim was. Jeremiah had got a message from God and was told to write everything he said on a scroll. He was to have a person named Baruch to take the scroll to the temple and read it to all that was there. Jeremiah could not go to the temple himself because he was restricted from going to the Temple. Baruch is to write down the words God gave Jeremiah on another scroll and we will find out later why another scroll. Tee King got word of the scroll reading and asked for them to bring the scroll to him and read it. As the scroll was being read the King was cutting off a section that had been read and throwing it in the fire. The scroll was consumed by fire. That’s what I said about him being stupid. In verse 30 we find what the lord has to say about all this. Therefore, this is what the Lord says about Jehoiakim king of Judah: He will have no one to sit on the throne of David; his body will be thrown out and exposed to the heat by day and the frost by night. I will punish him and his children and his attendants for their wickedness; I will bring on them and those living in Jerusalem and the people of Judah every disaster I pronounced against them, because they have not listened.’” I say once again Beware of making light of God’s word! When he gets angry he punishes all who disobey.

Chapter 37 This chapter find Jeremiah arrested and put into prison for desertion. He of course was not deserting he was going to claim property. This is what everyone was so worried about in Jeremiah’s prophesy in verse 6-8 it says. Then the word of the Lord came to Jeremiah the prophet: This is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: Tell the king of Judah, who sent you to inquire of me, ‘Pharaoh’s army, which has marched out to support you, will go back to its own land, to Egypt. Then the Babylonians will return and attack this city; they will capture it and burn it down. Once again I say don’t mess around with God when he is serious.

Father God I pray that I will never forget how good you are to me. You are a great God and a just God. I never want to cross you. I love you with all my heart but I also fear you and that’s good. I had some fear of my parents when I was young but that didn’t mean I didn’t love them. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries around the world. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

