August 31 – Lamentations 3:37– 5:22

Lamentations is a great example of prayer.  In this whole book what we see is a man pouring his heart out to God.  He is not making flowery speeches or sugar-coating his feelings.  He is being real and true with God.   In his prayer Jeremiah recognizes that God is God and that He is a faithful, loving and merciful God and yet at the same time we see Jeremiah laying his concerns, as well as his doubts about what God is doing.

I think I love Jeremiah because he is so much like me.  Almost in the same breath we see him recognize God for who He is 5:19 “You, or Lord, reign forever; your throne endures from generation to generation” – and then in the very next moment he says “Why do you always forget us? Why do you forsake us so long? Restore us to yourself, O Lord, that we may return; renew our days as of old unless you have utterly rejected us and are angry with us beyond measure.”

I don’t know about you, but often that must be what my prayers sound like to God.  One moment I am strong, confident, believing in the God I know and the very next it seems I am filled with questions, doubts, and fears of God I hope I have not gone so far off the beaten path that you would reject me.

God wants our honesty in our prayers.  He knows our fears, concerns, struggles, etc.  He wants us to be real and authentic with Him. It is as we are real with God that we get to experience God deeper and more intimately.  It is the passions on both sides of the spectrum that allow us, like Jeremiah, to say the words above and in the same prayer say “Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed – His compassion never fail, they are new every morning”.

Well this closes this our time spent with the Prophet Jeremiah – I do hope, like me that you have been able to relate to this great man of faith!  And maybe too, he is becoming your favorite prophet 🙂

Until next time – Be Encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Jeremiah, Lamentations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 31 – Lamentations 3:37– 5:22

  1. Sandra Perdew says:

    I love your comments. And you are so right. Understanding some of this is very hard. But I think we can do it – with God’s help of course 🙂

    Like

  2. Marian Bass says:

    I have always liked Jeremiah, he had such a heart for God and for his people.
    Thank you for your comments, I was going to really try to start posting again until I read Ezekiel and he makes Jeremiah a childrens story in simplicity. I am having trouble understanding Ezekiel and I have just read the first 4 chapters. I do know he has a heart for God also and that following God is not always easy, it would be very hard to lay only on one side for over a year (390 Days to be exact) even thou God helps him not to turn over. This is on a hard ground and he has to take care of himself. WOW we think it is hard to follow God.
    Lord please forgive my complaining and help me to serve you in any way I can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

