Still not Satisfied – Ezekiel 16-17 – September 5

In these chapters are more warnings and applications for us today.  Yes,this was about the Israelites but even still I see much of us today in these chapters.

I believe there is a key verse in chapter 16 – verse 28 “…and even after that, you still were not satisfied.”  Not only is this a key verse but it should serve as a huge warning for us today.  How easy it is to become less than satisfied and to want more. What does it mean to be satisfied?   One meaning is to gratify to the full.  There are many things in this world that bring us satiety, and God wants to be the primary and foremost in that area.  Are you satisfied with God the provider, the protector, the healer, the comforter, etc.? Or, are you always wanting more?  These are good thought-provoking questions, one’s we all, perhaps, need to take before God for the answers.

There was also a huge ouch for the children of God in these chapters – did you catch it in chapter 16?  “As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, your sister Sodom and her daughters never did what you and your daughters have done.”  That one should have really stung, but I suspect it fell on deaf ears as well.  Remember Sodom and Gomorrah – they were completely destroyed for this sins against God and how far they had wandered from a godly life (see Genesis 18-19).

You know it is really, really easy to wander away.  Think of a small child for instance, they see something that draws them off just a little bit from their parent, and as they are enjoying that thing, they spy another and are intrigued and wander further, and then just over there is something that is really looking good and they wander even further. Before they know it they have wandered so far they can no longer see their home, their parent, or anything that resembles what they once knew. I can’t help but wonder where I might be in the wandering process. Can I still see my parent, can I still see home?  Can I recognize my homeland?  Is anything of God still seeable?

In the story above if the child wanders far enough away the parent can no longer see the child, and the child may be lost forever.  Here is the good news we cannot wander so far off that God cannot find us or restore us.  All we need do is recognize we are lost, lift our arms up, cry out Abba Father (daddy) and He is there ready to forgive and place us in His grasp once again.

Until next time,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Ezekiel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still not Satisfied – Ezekiel 16-17 – September 5

  1. Studying Ekezial 16-17 in Discipleship class – used Kay Arthur’s book ISRAEL MY BELOVED to assist in illustrating – have you read this? Susan

    Like

    • Sandra Perdew says:

      Susan,

      No, I am not familiar with the study. Why did you ask? Is it a good study?

      Thank you for stopping by to read my blog and for commenting. It is always an encouragement when others take time to post a comment or ask questions. Thank you again.

      Until next time be encouraged.

      Like

  2. Jack Bass says:

    You had a great post today Sandra. It makes you think about where we stand with God and where he stands with us. The analogy of the child wandering away was great.

    Ezekiel 16. This is probably the most vile chapter I have read in the bible. Its description of the prostitute and her affairs is a horrible read. The descriptions of her wickedness is absolutely awful. Of course Ezekiel is prophesying to Israel about their wickedness and their unfaithfulness to God using a Prostitute in place of Israel. It gets pretty bad in its description. The entire chapter is very graphic as is Israels sins against God. This chapter describes Jerusalem as a second Sodom and we know what God did to that immoral bunch. What a way to describe Israel as to a wanton whore who has a insatiable appetite for sex and the way the chapter describes it is absolutely awful but I guess the bluntness of language was the only way to make the people of Israel realize just how mad God was.

    Ezekiel 17. The first ten verses of this chapter are to deep for me to understand. Verse 11 is God telling Ezekiel to ask the Israelis if they understand what he has said in the first ten chapters. Now I don’t feel so dumb because the Israelis didn’t understand it either. Ezekiel had to explain it to them. Ezekiel explains it this way. King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon overrunning Jerusalem and taking Zedekiah the King to Babylon along with all the brightest people in the land. He did this so that Jerusalem would never recover because it had no real leaders left because he took all of them to Babylon. Verses 16-21 are all about King Zedekiah breaking his covenant with God and what God plans to do to him as punishment for his sins. Verses 22-24 I feel like God is telling the people of the coming of Jesus. I feel like this because Jesus is referred to as the branch in scripture. Most of this chapter is a blur to me and I pray that I haven’t messed it up to bad. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God my love for you grows each and every day. I pray that I have a greater understanding when I read your words in the Bible. I feel so inadequate when I can’t grasp the meaning of each word. I feel like the apostles felt when Jesus spoke in Parables to them. Forgive me when I sin father. I ask for blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus name I pray these things. Amen.

    Like

    • Sandra Perdew says:

      Hi Jack

      Thank you for your kind words. I never know which way I will be heading when I sit down to read and to type. I truly believe that most of the time it is led by God as I ask for Him to show me each time. God is so awesome!

      Thanks for the encouragement and for taking time to post such wonderful details. I really appreciate them!

      Until next time, Sandra

      Like

Leave a Reply

