Ezekiel 24-27 – September 9

“Then they will know that I am the LORD.” As we read about the downfall and destruction of nations and tribes we see a common denominator “Then they will know that I am the LORD.”  Remember anytime you see in the Old Testament the word Lord all in caps it is referring to God, Yahweh.  God is saying they will know that I am God; beyond doubt they will know. They will know that I am who I say I AM.   Remember God told Moses to say, “I AM” has sent me, in reference to Moses’s question, “What do I say when they ask who sent me”; on whose authority I am acting?

I guess my question for today is, “Do you truly know that God is God – I mean truly know”? Not by simple head knowledge, but way down deep, deep in your soul.

Here God is saying I am God, make no mistake about it. Doesn’t matter whether you believe it or not.  I am He and soon all will know it!

There will come a time when Jesus, the son of God, will once again return to earth.  It will be for the last and final time.  It doesn’t matter whether you believe it or not. There is coming a time when all will know.  And whether we believe it or not it will make a difference.  It will make a difference in our eternal lives.  So, again I ask the question – “Do you know that God is God”?

Until tomorrow,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Ezekiel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ezekiel 24-27 – September 9

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Ezekiel 24. Well the time of Jerusalem’s demise has finally came. After all the warnings through all the Prophets over a span of a lot of years (I don’t profess to know how many) God has finally let some other country overrun Jerusalem. He has totally gave up on them. God has protected Israel for many years through all the sieges that they have been able to overcome. But not this time. His protection is not there this time. He has reduced their military capability to zero. If you notice in Verse thirteen God shows a glimmer of hope for them when he says when my anger has cooled. God appears to me to never completely give up on us. He continually seems to offer hope when he cools off. My thought is that even though so many people in this world seem to think that his book is a fairy tale and that Jesus is a figment of someones imagination. Through it all God still loves us and wants us all to be with him in heaven when he destroys this world just as he did when he destroyed Jerusalem. He sent Jesus as a real sign of his love for us and allowed him to be crucified in our place. Gods love is unending.

    Ezekiel 25. From all our readings I seem to feel like Gods anger is reserved for the Israelis but here in this reading we see where that is not so. I gather from reading this chapter that when the time comes God will punish the human race for all the misdeeds and sinning we as people seem to do. God stepped off the reservation in this chapter to punish other countries that were Pagan in nature. They didn’t believe in God and lived life accordingly. Its like the Pagan nations didn’t believe that God was God of all Gods. I absolutely feel like our country is slipping away from God with us Christians allowing a small portion of non believers to dictate what can and cannot be said about God in public places. I don’t know what it will take for us to unite and tell these folks to buzz off. In Verses 15-17 we see where God is telling us that he will destroy all when the time comes and then all people will know that he is God of all Gods.

    Ezekiel 26. In this chapter God shows anger towards the foreign city of Tyre. In Ezekiel 26:3, the prophet said that Tyre, the Phoenician Empire’s most powerful city, would be attacked by many nations, because of its treatment of Israel. At about the time that Ezekiel delivered this prophecy, Babylon had begun a 13 year attack on Tyre’s mainland. Later on Alexander the Great conquered the island of Tyre and brought an end to the Phoenician Empire. In verses 19-21 God said I will make you a desolate city. You will be like a ghost city that no one will ever live in again. He goes on to say that he will make Tyre an island in the ocean. I am going to bring you to a horrible end and you will be no more. You will be looked for but you will never again be found. It shows in this chapter Gods wrath is not reserved for just the Israeli nation alone. He will wreck havoc on any nation that defies his power and authority. God is good to all who believe and follow his commandments. All this could have probably been avoided if the Israeli people had done what God told them to do when they entered the promised land. They were told to destroy every living thing leaving no one left alive in the land. Of course the people didn’t do as he instructed them and even today the problem lingers with all the surrounding countries. Esau is one that I have always felt was the cause of so much problems with his anger of losing his birth rite for a bowl of stew. His anger is manifested in all the Arabic nations and I feel like it stems from when Esau left his home angry and settled in Edom where all his children were born and lived. I feel like Esau’s anger rubbed off on his children towards Israel and the anger remains till this day. My thought only and I don’t charge extra for them.

    Chapter 27 can be broken down into three sections with the first part depicting the Glory of Tyre using a Great majestic ship to describe her. Tyre was especially arrogant about her beauty and abundance of everything. We all know how God hate braggarts and arrogant people. He prefers humbleness in his servants. The second part shows us just how much Tyre had Prospered with trading partners all over the world. She had the world on a string so to speak. We also know that God sometimes take umbrage to this kind of success when no credit is given to him for the success. Its a bad mistake for us to take all the credit for success we might attain. We in the third part then have the dramatic prophecy of her sudden disaster and disaster it was when God had had enough of their arrogance. God decides enough is enough an sinks the ship so to speak. We must remember that God can give us everything but God can also take it away so we need to always regard God with reverence and praise his holy name taking credit for none of our successes. I discovered this piece in my research and I feel like it fits this reading very well. The fall of every great wicked city in the history of mankind always came at the very height of the city’s power and glory and all such events were usually considered to be impossible, and they all came suddenly and dramatically. I somehow have related this to our nation in its present condition. We all need to get on our knees and ask God for his forgiveness and for his protection or I am afraid that our country might fit into the category of Tyre. Just and opinion and I don’t charge for them. In Christ, Jack

    Father God I fear for my country and seek your guidance as to what we need to do for you to restore your favor on us. I know there are so many unbelievers among us and I know you are unhappy with us over them. Be with our leaders especially as they seem to be drifting away from you much farther than the general populace. Father I know I love you and respect what you say because I know that you are the only perfect one. Be with us father God as we plod along this rocky road of life. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

