Joel – September 18

The Israelites had a long history of passing down to generation after generation their stories.  The story of God’s interaction in their lives; usually these stories were centered on God’s deliverance provision, restorer, redeemer, the Great I AM.  In chapter one the Prophet Joel tells the Israelites that they are to tell the generations to follow of the great locust swarm and what was left behind. And of course what the locusts left behind was absolutely nothing. They devoured, ate and destroyed until nothing was left; every bit of vegetation – gone!

Today, we still have similar plaques but we no longer consider them a judgment from God; although maybe we should.  God uses the things in our lives to draw us back to him, much as He is using the plague of locusts in Joel. His purpose isn’t to destroy or make our life miserable.  Although I admit there were times when I wondered.  Let me assure you that is not case!

God’s whole purpose in creating us was to have a relationship with us.  And all He asks of that relationship is that He would be first and foremost on our minds and in our hearts and of course that might mean that we are obedient to His calling.  OBEDIENCE a word that many simply don’t like.  The Israelites, as we have seen, have gone so far off course that God is doing all he can to get their attention.  God wants to restore the relationship He is calling them back to repentance to a renewed and right relationship. God wants to bless us to pour His love into us; when we repent, turn away from our self-centered ways and look to Him, God restores not only the relationship but promises to restore to us what was lost and then some.  We saw this in Job and we see this here in chapter 2 of Joel.

Until next time – Be encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Joel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joel – September 18

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Joel 1. The Prophet is told that an invasion of locusts will devour all the crops. And they did. It tells of the young Locusts preparing the way for the old ones to strip everything clean. That’s the way it always works us older folks always have to clean up after our young. Or that’s the way I feel about this chapter. It seems to me that God is telling all the people who are not paying attention to their crops because of their Drunkenness or other things. God is not to blame for every calamity that occurs on this earth. I feel like he could stop everyone if he wanted to but we have to learn to live with heartache because life is not a bowl of cherries all the time. God calls for mourning over the devastation from all people especially the priests. The last few verses pertain to seeking Gods face in sincere prayer and begging him to make things right. I also feel like a little praise for all he does for us is always good. Joel 2. Starts with the announcement that God is on the way. Its described somewhat like the invasion of the horde of Locusts but more so. The descriptions of alarming, darkness and gloom. An Army is described that is very large like nothing that has ever been seen before and will never be seen again. I am not sure if this means the end of time yet. It could be just another warning from God that the end is near. From the vivid description of God leading the Army certainly could mean the end. Once again I’M not sure what these first 11 verses mean. I don’t know if its another hoard of locusts or a mighty army of men. Verses 12-17 is the Lord telling his people to return to him and give up all there sinning ways and worship him the true God. Verses 18-27 is about Gods acceptance of the people prayers and the restoration of all their good fortune. He will give them rain where crops will grow. Verse 27 God tells them that they will know he is with them and they will know he is God and that there are no other God or Gods. He says never again will his people be ashamed. Verses 28-32 I feel like is God announcing his sons arrival He says he will pour out his spirit and I think that will be Jesus. Verse 31 I think is the end times. Verse 32 describes the Peoples seeing Jesus in the sky and excepting him as their savior. This is strictly my opinion on these last few verses but I hope I am right on my thoughts. Joel 3. This chapter speaks about Jesus Christs return and how he will punish the Arabic nations for all the Problems they have caused his people. I feel like the Jerusalem he speaks about will be the new Jerusalem and this Jerusalem will be holy and no more will she be invaded by anyone. Verse 18 tell of water flowing out of the Lords house. This is probably the water that flows from under the Sanctuary described in Ezekiel that heals the land. I wish I could understand more of all that I read but maybe its written in this way so we will keep reading with hope that we get more understanding each time we read it. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God I love you so much for the goodness that you have on display each day I live. So many things we have and receive each day we sometimes just associate with life. We should be praising you each day that we live because of your goodness to us and realizing that you are the creator and all good things come from you. I ask for blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus precious name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

