Praying like Daniel – September 21

What a model prayer we have here in Daniel chapters 7-9.  We would all do wise to pray similarly for our nation today

“I prayed to the LORD my God and confessed:

4  “O Lord, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with all who love him and obey his commands, 5 we have sinned and done wrong. We have been wicked and have rebelled; we have turned away from your commands and laws. 6 We have not listened to your servants the prophets, who spoke in your name to our kings, our princes and our fathers, and to all the people of the land.

7 “Lord, you are righteous, but this day we are covered with shame—the men of Judah and people of Jerusalem and all Israel, both near and far, in all the countries where you have scattered us because of our unfaithfulness to you. 8 O LORD, we and our kings, our princes and our fathers are covered with shame because we have sinned against you. 9 The Lord our God is merciful and forgiving, even though we have rebelled against him; 10 we have not obeyed the LORD our God or kept the laws he gave us through his servants the prophets. 11 All Israel has transgressed your law and turned away, refusing to obey you.

“Therefore the curses and sworn judgments written in the Law of Moses, the servant of God, have been poured out on us, because we have sinned against you. 12 You have fulfilled the words spoken against us and against our rulers by bringing upon us great disaster. Under the whole heaven nothing has ever been done like what has been done to Jerusalem. 13 Just as it is written in the Law of Moses, all this disaster has come upon us, yet we have not sought the favor of the LORD our God by turning from our sins and giving attention to your truth. 14 The LORD did not hesitate to bring the disaster upon us, for the LORD our God is righteous in everything he does; yet we have not obeyed him.

15 “Now, O Lord our God, who brought your people out of Egypt with a mighty hand and who made for yourself a name that endures to this day, we have sinned, we have done wrong. 16 O Lord, in keeping with all your righteous acts, turn away your anger and your wrath from Jerusalem, your city, your holy hill. Our sins and the iniquities of our fathers have made Jerusalem and your people an object of scorn to all those around us.

17 “Now, our God, hear the prayers and petitions of your servant. For your sake, O Lord, look with favor on your desolate sanctuary. 18Give ear, O God, and hear; open your eyes and see the desolation of the city that bears your Name. We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy. 19 O Lord, listen! O Lord, forgive! O Lord, hear and act! For your sake, O my God, do not delay, because your city and your people bear your Name.”

Until next time  –  Be encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Praying like Daniel – September 21

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Daniel 7&8. Verses 1-8 After my first reading I don’t have a clue as to what these verses mean. Hopefully they will be explained some later on. After a little research I found that the four beasts mentioned are actually four kingdoms. This chapter has Daniel dream giving us a glimpse of end times. We have two instances in the Bible where we will be Judged and the first one is the Bema Judgment. I believe when Christ comes to get his bride, the church he will judge all the people that rose with him in the rapture. This will include all the dead and they will rise first. This is where we will get our station in the kingdom according to our works. This is my thoughts alone on the Bema Judgment. Take it for what its worth. If and when I make it to heaven I will be happy I won’t care what Jesus assigns me to do I will be ever so glad do it. Next Jesus will judge the people that’s left alive after the ten year Millennium and this is called the great white throne Judgment. Every sin that’s ever been committed will be on display and the ones left alive will answer for each one. Many of these will be cast into the lake of fire along with the devil and all is angels. The end of the chapter says that Gods kingdom will endure forever. A difficult chapter to understand but with some help from some commentaries I understand much more than I did when I first read it. It takes people a lot smarter than I to understand what all the animals depicted in these verses Meant. Its a good study and shows us the end was shown to Daniel way back in time.
    Chapter 9. The first few verses of this chapter, in fact about half of the chapter is Daniels pray to God confessing Israelis sins. He doesn’t exclude himself of any of these sins and rightfully so includes himself in all the sins. The rest of the chapter is about Jesus entering the scene as prophesied. The angel Gabriel appeared and told Daniel the meaning of his vision. This also includes the end of time when the end shall come. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God give me the tools that I need to withstand the Devil for I know he is present all the time. You have said in your book that you will put anything in my path that I can’t handle and I believe that. I need your help each day. You are a just God but you are also a loving God who understands sin in your people. If I come in sincere prayer you have said you will forgive and I ask that blessing right now. Forgive my sins father. I also ask your blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus most holy name I pray. Amen.
    Reply
    Reply to all
    Forward

    Like

Leave a Reply

