Luke 4-5 Matthew 4 John 1 15-51 – Oct 10

In these passages we Jesus in the desert being tempted by Satan himself.  We also see some interesting dialogue going on as well.  Did you notice that in all the responses where Jesus answers Satan’s statements of temptation – that he answers by quoting scripture? Case in point as to why we must study the Word of God and memorize scripture – you cannot answer with what you do not know.   It is more than just knowing God’s Word it is hiding it in your heart word-for-word. Ah, I can hear you saying I am doing good just to read my Bible and that is hit or miss. I can’t memorize it too.

But, it is important to memorize.  Did you notice that Satan knew the Word of God, and that he quoted it to Jesus… and did you see Jesus response?  Satan quotes Psalm 91:11-12 with a slight twist much as he did with Eve way back in the beginning.  But Jesus knowing the Word was able to recognize the subtle differences and responded with scripture directly.  We can do that too when life hits us hard and when the devil is trying to convince us that God doesn’t care, etc. However, we cannot do it, if we do not know Scripture

How about it, ready to memorize some scripture?  Here is one to get you started, Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. James 4:7. .  

Until next time,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Luke 4-5 Matthew 4 John 1 15-51 – Oct 10

  1. Jack Bass says:

    I am choosing Luke as a basis for all these chapters in the three books because I feel like Luke is the most organized of all the Gospels. Probably because he was better educated or whatever. If I spot a difference of importance I will try to comment on it. I will start with Luke and one thing that struck me right away in the reading was when Jesus attempted to preach in Nazareth his home town he started with this scripture. The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor. If this had been me I would have probably just said if anyone is in the audience that has a ailment of any kind preferably blindness of someone who is lame step right up and I will takes care of it for you. Of course I am not Jesus and he had his own methods.Jesus did not go over very well in his own home town. When he was preaching the people were mumbling isn’t this Josephs son. How can he be anything special. I feel like this surely would have quieted the unbelievers in his home town if he had done what I suggested. They would or at least should have believed hey this guy is something special. Jesus left his home town and preached all over the land where he healed many. Once the people got the word that this guy Jesus was healing all kinds of people and casting out demons he was besieged with requests to heal people. He finally left the place and told the people he had to move on so his message would be heard by others. Luke 5 shows us how Jesus picked his first two disciple’s. He told them to cast their nets in deeper water and they would catch fish. Peter resisted because they had fished all night and caught nothing. Anyway they did as Jesus asked and they caught so many fish they had to call a second boat to get them all in the two boats. Peter was so amazed at what he had witnessed he told Jesus he was a sinful man and didn’t deserve to be in the company of Jesus. Jesus told hm from now on toy will be fishers of men. Jesus continued his healing and he healed a man with Leprosy. He was sought after by all the people. He would hideaway once in a while so he could pray. Jesus healed a paralyzed man who was dropped through the roof of a house because they couldn’t get in to him any other way. He got into trouble with the pharisees who were the religious elite for saying your sins are forgiven. They were angry that a mortal man said he could forgive sin because only God alone could do that. They couldn’t believe they were standing and talking with God himself. Jesus new what was in their heart and rebuked them for their thoughts. He told the paralyzed man to get up and walk and he did taking his mat and walking away. more trouble for Jesus came when he was at a banquet and was eating with tax collectors and other sinners. Jesus explained to them he came to heal the sinners of the world and not the righteous of the world. Matthew 4 has Jesus being taken out into the wilderness by the spirit. I’M not sure what spirit and I am not sure why. He spent forty days with the Devil whispering in his ear all the things he would do for him if he just sinned against God. Jesus rebuked him on every offer that was made to him. Also in this chapter we see Jesus getting the word that John the Baptist had been put in prison. Jesus continued his march around the promised land healing. He was healing people from all over the land. His healing powers had even reached into other countries like Syria. and people brought to him all who were ill with various diseases, those suffering severe pain, the demon-possessed, those having seizures, and the paralyzed; and he healed them. Large crowds from Galilee, the Decapolis, Jerusalem, Judea and the region across the Jordan followed him. He was a very popular man as he was doing all this healing the sick. The story of Nathanael is handled in John. Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him and said now here is comes a true Israelite and Nathanael asked him how do you know me. I saw you in the fig tree before Phillip called you. Nathanael said Rabbi you are truly the son of God and you are the King of Israel. Jesus said, You believe because I told you I saw you under the fig tree. You will see greater things than that. He then added, Very truly I tell you, you will see ‘heaven open, and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man. In Christ, Jack.

    Father God your splendor knows no bounds. You are so special in my life. You gave life to me when I was dead in Christ. You restored my faith and my soul. You gave me Jesus on the cross to wash away all my sins and with that act the promise of eternal life. I promise I will do my best to honor you. I seek blessings for my church as well as our missionaries around the world. In Jesus holy name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

