Acts 13-14

I think the thing I find most interesting in these 2 chapters is how easy the people are swayed from believing to rioting.  One minute it seems they are all in agreement for the Lord and then some Jewish rebel-rousers come in and they are ready to stone people.  But unfortunately I can’t judge them to harshly as I am probably very similar.  One moment I think I am on fire for the Lord, knowing exactly the path I am to take and the next minute the wind changes slightly or someone says something and I am once again blowing in the breeze bouncing like a leaf with no place to light.

Verse 22 jumped out at me in Chapter 14 “…”We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God.”.  Hardships are different things to different people.  With that said I have a question for all of you today… what is the hardship that you face?  Is it health, faith… what?  What is that so easily has you unsure and swaying with the wind?

Share if you are willing by leaving a comment below.  I will lift you up to the Lord in prayer for whatever is your challenge.

Until tomorrow – Be encouraged

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Acts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Acts 13-14

  1. Jack Bass says:

    Acts 13. Starts with Barnabas and Paul being selected by God to take the word to the Gentiles. It includes the hatred the Jews had for the message and were jealous of what they heard and rejected it all so Paul told the Gentiles and all who would listen. Therefore, my friends, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins has been publicly announced to you. Through him everyone who believes is set free from every sin. This is something you could not possibly obtain under the law of Moses. What a wonderful promise from our God and savior. Its so hard for me to understand why the Jews hated Jesus and his message. He was born one of them and did all kinds of wonderful things for them with his healing and other miracles he preformed while on this earth. He even brought the dead back to life. Most Jews knew he was good and until he was actually put to death they loved him. I guess the lies the ones in power told about him paid off because even today he is rejected by so many in the Jewish world. I know according to scripture some of them will return to believing in him but they won’t be many left by that time. I hate to think of the ones left after the rapture when all believes will be taken up to be with our Lord and savior.
    Acts 14. Paul and Barnabas as usual went to the Jewish synagogue to pray and tell about Jesus. Some believed the message and some didn’t. The ones who didn’t believe spoke badly of what they ere trying to do and convinced many of the Jews and Gentiles not to believe. They unbelievers were so angry with Paul and Barnabas. The Jews and Gentiles who didn’t believe the message was trying to find a way and planned to kill them by stoning but Paul and Barnabas found out and fled the city. The message to me in this is do you think that we may have the courage in face of death to continue in our faith. There may come a time when we will face this possibility. In the city of Lystra where they were preaching Paul healed a lame man. When the people saw this they figured these men were Gods and wanted to worship them by sacrificing animals to them. Of course Paul and Barnabas was angry about this and told the crowd that they were men just like them and had been given this power to heal by Jesus the one who was crucified. Paul was stoned and left for dead but after his disciples gathered around him he got up and went back to the city. Can you imagine the ones who had left him for dead seeing him alive after the stoning they had given to him. What a way to die. If I had to die in such a fashion I think I would prefer hanging which of course was devised as a way of killing people in a more humane way. Paul and Barnabas traveled many places preaching about Jesus and what he had done in their lives and doing all they could to get the message to as many Gentiles they could reach in hopes of letting them know that now the word of God was open to them if they would only believe and place their faith in Jesus. We still have that assurance today. Jesus died for you and me and all we need to do is confess him before men as our savior and believe. Then we need to do our best by word and example to spread the good news to others. In Christ, Jack.
    Father God. You are so good to me. Showering me with your love and protection. Without you I am nothing. Knowing all this I am still a sinner. As I continue in the reading of your book it is so much more clear of how much you love me. Giving of your son to die the horrible death on the cross had to have been so painful for you. But you endured it anyway because of your love for me. His death wasn’t for me alone but all people who would only put their faith in him. Praise his holy name. I seek blessings on my church as well as our missionaries. In Jesus holy name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

