Stinking Thinking…Not!!!

In my last blog to you, I wrote that I was reading the Bible backwards. It has been interesting to come to God’s word from a different angle. It is helping to see things I never noticed before; a different perspective. Today I found myself in 2nd Peter chapter 3. I didn’t get  far before the Lord stopped me. It was almost as if the words jumped off the page and said, “Here I am, look at me, and chew on this for a while”. In 2 Peter 3:1, I read “Dear friends, this is now my 2nd letter to you. I have written both of them as reminders to stimulate you to wholesome thinking.”

In doing a short word study on this phrase, “stimulate you to wholesome thinking” I see stimulate means to wake up fully, to arouse, to agitate, to excite, to stir up. The word wholesome implies, clarity of mind and understanding by which one is able to seek all things intelligibly and clearly, and is able to proceed without mistake. Peter wrote these things as reminders to the early church. It is also a reminder of for us today. Being wholesome in our thinking is not something that just happens. We need to be intentional; we need to stir ourselves up; to excite that which is within to pure thinking.

How do we do this? The answer if found in the very next verse. Peter goes on to say, “I want you to recall the words spoken in the past by the holy prophets, and the command given by our Lord and Savior through your apostles.” Keep in mind the early church did not have the Bible. They were dependent on letters, what they had been told or taught down through the ages and their memories. We however are blessed to have all of God’s word right at our fingertips. Too often we take this for granted, and our Bibles sit on our desks, or on our shelves untouched and gathering dust. If we want to lead a life of wholesome thinking, if we want to stimulate our thinking to better things, more godly things, we need to spend time daily in God’s word; recalling the words written for us. It is in the study and reading of God’s word that we learn what wholesome thinking is and how to apply that thinking into the daily interaction of our lives. We learn what it means to take words captive. We learn how to use God’s Word to encourage others and so much more!

Until next time,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 2 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

