God vs. gods

While doing research, in the Book of Exodus, for a study I’m writing on the Bible character Moses, I came across a verse which leaves me pondering. I love to research and study the Bible. Unfortunately, I often discover I have more questions than answers. Today’s one of those times.

In researching the plagues brought upon Egypt at the hand of God I read the following in Exodus 12:12, “On that same night I will pass through Egypt and strike down every firstborn – both men and animals – and I will bring judgment on all the gods of Egypt. I am the Lord.” God makes this statement in reference to the night when the Angel of Death goes throughout Egypt killing all firstborn sons.

In my mind I’ve always believed the gods of Egypt were simply graven images carved or molded to represent a belief system; a belief system which was faulty and not real. I never considered their gods might literally be gods; real entities. I’m not saying they are real. I’m simply saying this passage has me a wee bit mystified. Therefore, I will do more research, more digging, in an effort to discover the answer of other gods in existence.

Watch for further posts regarding this subject. If any of you, my readers, know the answer to my question, or have a theory, please post a comment. The purpose of this blog is to study together. I welcome your comments and insights.

Until next time “Happy Studying”
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God vs. gods

  1. Meridith says:

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article posted at this site is actually nice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

