Psalm 139

Hearts to praiseI love Psalm 139… To know the Lord has searched me and knows me (the Hebrew word know means to know in the most intimate sense, not just casually). He knows my inner most being. God knows what I do each day; my comings and my goings.  God knows what I will speak before the words exit my mouth (now this can be both comforting and scary when you are me). God the Creator of all things … made me!!!! I am in awe and wonder.

When we begin to comprehend this in its entirety, how can we not praise God?  In these psalms, David the Psalmist is full of praise for God.  David understood who God was; David understood the awesomeness of God. These are Psalms where I am drawn to mark every place I find Praise.  I want to fully grasp David’s love and recognition for His God; for my God .  I want to take these phrases of praise and turn them into my own praise lifted high to my Father in Heaven.

I was struck by Psalm 131 where David states he has quieted his soul before God and Psalm 143 – “I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done, I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parch land.”

Today is a great day to sit quietly before the Lord, to remember, to meditate on His wonderful works and to sing praises to my creator and to raise my hands as my soul thirsts for God; and thirsts it does!

Will you join me?

Until next time,

Be encouraged, Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Psalm 139

  1. Psalm 139 is one of my favorite Psalms too. Because of my life’s trials, I need to remind myself of just how intimately I am known by God and that I can trust He has never made a mistake. It is I who has wandered from Him and the He simply uses the chaos of my life to sanctify me and prepare me to one day be His Son’s wife! Now that is an exhilarating thought!

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      “To be His Son’s wife.” I do not believe I ever truly thought of it in those terms. Although, I am not unaware of the term, “Becoming the Bride of Christ”, I usually think of this in terms of the church; not me as an individual. I tend to think of myself in terms of a daughter to the King, hence the name of my other blog purpleprincessreflections. You have given me a wonderful reminder.

      Thank you for taking time to reply to my post; very much appreciated.

      Blessings,
      Sandra

      Like

Leave a Reply

