Mercy Like Gentle Rain

dew4God grabbed my attention through my reading in 1 Chronicles 27; Five simple words, “the men did not finish.” Joab son of Zeruiah began to count but the men did not finish…. no further explanation given.  What’s so important about not finishing the counting? Obviously it was important for the non-completion of this job brought down the wrath of God upon Israel. Seems rather harsh punishment for not finishing a task, doesn’t it?

In this passage God asked/commanded the Israelite’s to do the counting.  How many times have I felt God asking me to do something and ignored His request? (Disobedience at its finest) Or, how many times have I started a ministry or a task or a project, or a relationship, which God laid upon my heart, with full intention of seeing the item to completion, only to pull away or dismiss it before its end? (Unintentional Disobedience – but never-the-less… Disobedience!)

Yes, sometimes there have been consequences, for the most part, however, all I have experienced is mercy, forgiveness, and favor; not God’s wrath. How many times have I taken advantage of His mercy and favor; I am sorry to say, all too often.

I am so thankful for God’s mercy.  I love this quote by William Shakespeare

The quality of mercy is not strained; It drops as the gentle rain from heaven Upon the place beneath. It is twice blessed – It blesseth him that giveth, and him that taketh.

What  a beautiful world it would be… if like drops of gentle rain mercy filled our lives.dew4

Until next time,

“They are blessed who show mercy to others,  for God will show mercy to them” Matthew 5:7  

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mercy Like Gentle Rain

  1. Linda Hall says:

    How easy to respond and start something (and get all prideful)… only to get lazy, forgetful, busy, nonchalant, sidetracked, disobedient, selfish, slothful, procrastinate, uncaring… and not finish. Need to remember: “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2Tim 4:7 Good reminder, Sandra! I needed that.

    Like

  2. Marian says:

    Thank heavens for Gods mercy and grace, I wouldn’t have a chance other wise. We fail him every day. Marian

    Like

Leave a Reply

