Giving Charge on Memorial Day

In 1 Kings “Chapter 2 David is nearing the end of his life.  David gives charge to, his son, Solomon, now anointed King; “I am about to go the way of all the earth,” he said. “So be strong, show yourself a man, and observe what the Lord your God requires; Walk in his ways, and keep his decrees and commands, …” these are David’s last words to his son, Solomon.

Were these words spoken to Solomon with David’s last breath or did some time, a day or two, or more elapse between these words and David’s death; the Bible does not say nor does it matter. What does matter is no one knows the day or hour when we will “go the way of all the earth” or when Christ will return. What matters, assuming I/we don’t leave earth before the day is through, we have the opportunity “to give charge” to our spouse, children, grandchildren and dear friends.

As a result of my reading today, I plan to write a letter to my spouse, my children, my grandchildren and a few others and follow the biblical example “to give charge”. These letters will contain a special memory or two of times spent together, words of encouragement for their journey ahead without their spouse, mom, grandma, dear friend, etc. I will place them in my “Because I Love You Binder” (more on this binder in a future organization blog at http://purpleprincessreflections.wordpress.com/). Hoping I have more years here on earth, I will revisit those letters every Memorial Day and update as appropriate.

Today, Memorial Day, I wonder what last words our fallen soldiers would have said if they had known  they were about “to go the way of all the earth,”.  Unfortunately, they no longer have this opportunity to “give charge” – to say last words; but we do! As we remember those who have gone before, let’s leave a memorial, a legacy, of love for those still with us.  Let’s “give charge” to our loved ones while it is still today.

Until next time,

[But] I would strengthen and encourage you with [the words of] my mouth, and the consolation of my lips would soothe your suffering. Job 16:5 amp

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

