Seeing God’s Glory

In Exodus 33:18 Moses says to God, “Now show me your glory.” The Lord replies, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. But,” he said, “You cannot see my face, for no one may see me, and live.”

I hunger for the kind of relationship which Moses had with God. Nowhere else in Scripture, to my knowledge, does anyone ever ask to see the glory of God up close and personal, and have God answer okie doakie.

I can’t help but wonder what it would be like to see all of God’s goodness pass by as it did Moses in the cleft of the rockbefore Moses, and for God to proclaim his name before him. God, not only honors Moses’s request. He gives complete directions on where to stand and tells him what will take place to be sure Moses is not harmed in the process.

The kind of intimate relationship which Moses had with God was a face-to-face as a man speaks to a friend; the Bible says. There’s a lot of good stuff in Exodus chapter 33. In verse 13 Moses says to God. “If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know, you and continue to find favor with you… And God replies, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Imagine hearing God say to you, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.” Exodus 33:17. This isn’t simply about knowing someone’s name in a casual sense. I know lots of people by name but don’t really know their true character.  The kind of knowing spoken of here comes from time spent together; from doing life side-by-side. It is knowing someone, deeply, down to the very essence of their core.

I have a relationship with Jesus! I have God’s own spirit, the Holy Spirit, living inside of me; walking with me day-to-day, side-by-side – intimately! You can’t get much more intimate. But somehow, in some way, something is missing. Maybe I’m looking for too much. Maybe I already have that which I seek. All I know is I crave to see the glory of God! All I know is I crave more of Jesus in my life. I don’t want to be satisfied with status quo anymore! Perhaps, I’m just not looking in the right place.

  • David was said to have been a man after God’s own heart; by God Acts 13:22
  • Abraham was called God’s friend James 2:23
  • Moses spoke to God face to face and God favored Moses, by showing Moses all His goodness; His glory Exodus 33:19

I wonder what will be said about me? My prayer is that someday God will say, “Sandra, my daughter, who made a difference, an impact, in the lives of others for eternity”.

Until next time,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

