Wisdom Through the Ages

We need never guess why the book of proverbs was written, for Solomon, son of David tells us in the very beginning why its written.

“for attaining wisdom and discipline; for understanding words of insight;
for acquiring a disciplined and prudent life, doing what is right, just and fair;
for giving prudence to the simple; knowledge and discretion to the young –
let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance –
for understanding proverbs and parables, the sayings and riddles of the wise”
.
Proverbs 1:2-6

As I read this passage I am reminded Jesus taught his followers through the use of parables.  The word “parable” comes from the Greek παραβολή (parabolē), meaning “comparison, illustration, analogy”. Jesus would share a fictional story to help his followers understand a current or future situation. The parables of Jesus are timeless as is the Wisdom of Solomon portrayed in Proverbs.

There are 31 chapters to the book of Proverbs. Like all things in the Bible I don’t think this is by accident. Over half of the 12 months of the year have 31 days. One Proverbs chapter a day works terrific. The other months you can double up on the last 2 Proverbs, or simply skip the last chapter in proverbs and catch it the following month. Of course in our unique month of February, you would need to double up on your reading at least twice to come out balanced at the end of the month. Reading a Proverbs chapter a day is simple, does not take much time and will power pack your day. Also, Proverbs is a great place to start memorizing Scripture!

I must confess, I used to read a chapter each day, somewhere along the line I stopped. In writing this blog, I realize how much I have missed the wisdom of Proverbs. I certainly could use more wisdom in my life. How about you? Won’t you join me in reading a chapter in the Book of Proverbs each day?

Do you have a favorite proverb? Please, take a moment and share here by leaving a reply and posting a comment on the blog.

Until next time,

Sandra

“Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained by a righteous life.” Proverbs 16:31crown of splendor

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

