It’s a Love – Hate Relationship

I have a love-hate relationship with the Book of James.   I love James because he is a bottom-line kind of person which shares good stuff; like meJ. I am not fond of James because he hits me right between the eyeballs and I cannot hedge or rationalize the truth of wrong actions in my life.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.  But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts I like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord.”  Did you notice the word “but” in the passage.  This seems to be the very thing I trip on each time I come face-to-face with a situation which makes me nervous, scares me, or I’m simply unsure of direction or outcomes.  Clarification, I trip on my doubt not my butt 🙂

I wonder why it so very difficult to simply place my trust, without question, without doubt, in the Lord’s hands.  He has always shown Himself trustworthy, often giving me wisdom in spite of doubting. Whenever I go to His Word and seek Him in prayer, He is always faithful to provide. Yet, I will often stew, fret, worry etc., way too long before I seek out His comfort, His peace, His wisdom.

lightbulb-moment-final2The words “God, who gives generously to all without finding fault” lit up like a neon sign.  Without finding fault —the voices of my past are hard to overcome.  Voices which say, “That is a stupid question”, “You don’t need me for this, figure it out”, “Don’t bother me”, or _____________ you fill in the blank.  I realize now this is part, if not the whole as to why I struggle in this particular area.  I am fearful to go to God for fear He will find fault with me or be disappointed in me.

James this morning was a gentle reminder I can always go to God with my questions, my doubts and my fears.  He wants me to come to Him!  What great joy and comfort to know He will not think less of me or find fault with my asking. Even if this is the thousandth time I have asked.

Watch out Lord, here I come – asking again; only this time with confidence in Your Love 🙂

Until next time,

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in James and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a Love – Hate Relationship

  1. carol fiola says:

    Thank you for the insight of James. So many times I have kept from going to my God because I feel that I have already asked and didn’t listen to him. Or the embarrassment of “when are you going to get it right?” (from my past). I feel great relief in the last two years that my God is always there, He will always listen to me and never give up. He will take my fears, anxiety, doubt and just wrap it up in his arms to give me comfort and assurance that no matter what He is there for me.

    Like

  2. Sweet reminder of how a father is with his children! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

