Eternal Existence in an Earthly Land

hebrews32Hebrews Chapter 11, often referred to as the Heroes of Faith chapter, is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible. The writer names many who chose to lead a life surrendered to God; ordinary people like you and I. They did not possess super-powered skills. Yet, they relinquished their life to God, allowing Him to do extraordinary things through their lives; accomplishing God’s eternal purposes. These Heroes of Faith trusted God through faithful obedience. They had faith not in themselves, but in God. They took God at his word. They believed God could do what he said He could and He would do what He said he would. “All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them, and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth.” Hebrews 12:13 “These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised.” Hebrews 12:39. The Heroes of Faith realized their home was an eternal home not of this world.

I have read this chapter many, many times. As I read it today, verse 38 jumped, leapt, lit-up, and got my attention. “The world was not worthy of them.” Two ways to understand this verse.  First – These people wandered in deserts and mountains, in caves and holes in the ground; by society’s standards they would’ve been looked down upon. Yet the Bible says the world was not worthy of them. The world was not worthy to have them in their presence. I wondered if God looking at my life would say, “The world is not worthy of Sandra’s presence”; I suspect not.

not my home musicSecond – “The world was not worthy of them”; exact wording, yet with a different meaning.  Their heart, their life, all focused on heaven – the eternal, not here on earth. Living each day with an eternal perspective; the earth held nothing for them. They found nothing worthy in earthly existence. The Heroes of Faith, Abraham, Joseph, Moses and all those listed accomplished much for God while going about their everyday lives. And, I suspect, never realizing their names would be recorded as examples for all generations to come.

Where is my focus?  Until recently on the earthly. Age tells me I don’t have tons of years ahead of me. The reality – none of us know if today is our last day on earth. How do we, how do I, live a life of eternal purpose? How do I live a day-to-day “heavenly/eternal existence” in a foreign land known as earth and not get caught up in the things of this world?

Until next time,
Sandra

“See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles of the world, rather than according to Christ.” Colossians 2:8

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Hebrews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eternal Existence in an Earthly Land

  1. Indeed! I’m beginning to learn that dialogue is one of God’s greatest gifts to humans. When we listen closely and quiet our own noisy thoughts, I believe He speaks to us through the words of others, much as He did through the prophets. I love the depth of your knowledge in His Word and your willingness to share that knowledge. I look forward to reading your blog. It is water to my parched thirst and bread to my deep hunger for God. I have to share a book with you that I am going through right now. It is called Experiencing the Depths of Jesus Christ, by Jeanne Guyon. It is a very simple message but very powerful for living in close companionship with Christ. The chapters are brief, so I include it in my daily reading during my time with the Lord in the morning. I am open to any suggestions for reading that you might have. I read mostly Christian psychology and Christian Self-Help categories. Some of my favorite authors are: Dan Allender, Larry Crabb, John Eldridge, Henri Nouwen, Jeanne Guyon, C. S. Lewis, R.C. Sproul, etc.

    I hope you have a lovely day! I’m off to take care of my mothers and babies, who never cease to give me delight!

    Like

  2. You ask some really good questions here, Sandra. Just how do we live lives of eternal purpose? It seems so easy for others to counsel us to “keep our eyes on the cross,” “have faith in Jesus,” and a million other things that ring true but are really impossible in and of ourselves. Bottom line, we are still sinful even though we have the Holy Spirit inside of us. If we are to make progress in our sanctified lives, we MUST depend entirely on the work of the Holy Spirit and stop lying to Him and squelching His work. We are huge idolaters. I am working my way through the book of Jeremiah and am once again, astounded at the anger of God over the idolatry of His people. Are we any different? We may not worship wood and stone figurines, but we worship our wood and stone homes, flesh and blood families and technology oriented equipment. All of these “idols” suck the energy right out of our lives! So, again, how do we live lives of eternal purpose? My prayer every day is that Jesus would be my “glorious obsession,” and in so doing that every voice of every idol that cries out to me will be lost in the thunder of His approval, and then silenced at His command. “God be merciful to me, a sinner!”

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      The million dollar question for which I have not an answer. I am pondering this question these days. We are called to be of the world not in the world. We are called to be set-apart and yet we live in a fallen world. I suspect as I “chew” on this for awhile, pray and study some answers may come. I promise to share them. It won’t necessarily mean I have succeeded in accomplishing them. I fail miserably every day. My motto lately is “For the Grace of God go I”. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to more dialogue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

