God is not Deaf

How many times have you felt God was silent? Often what appears as silence from God is Him saying no to our requests.  Not out of meanness but because He has a bigger purpose; a larger picture which we do not understand. Today, I’m reminded Jesus prayed a heartfelt earnest prayer, through loud cries and tears; which God answered with a no. Hebrews 5:7-9, “During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with loud cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission.  Although he was a son, he learned obedience from what he suffered and, once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him…”

Baby_Cries2I thought of all the times I have offered up prayers with loud sobs and tears; times when God said no. Although, I often thought I was simply not being heard. In those times I would cry out louder in persistence; I am sure bordering on the obnoxious. All in an effort to get God’s attention and have Him hear me. News Flash!  God’s not deaf!!! I wanted my way, not God’s.

“Although He, Jesus, was a son, he learned obedience from what he suffered.” I learn obedience as I yield to the Word of God and surrender to the will of God. But, it does not stop there.  I need to see suffering as a tool which God uses to refine and teach me reverent surrendered obedience.  I would rather learn this without suffering. But as the saying goes, some things can only be learned through trials and tribulations.

The kicker – “and, once made perfect, He (Jesus) became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him…”  It’s the big picture which counts in the final scheme of things.  God had a plan which would affect each and every one of our eternities.  Had Jesus chosen to be anything other than obedient, through surrender, we would be doomed. Thank you Jesus for your steadfast faith, reverent submission, trust and complete devotion to God!

compassEver wonder how many times your lack of obedience, your unwillingness to submit to God has thwarted a plan He had for a much bigger purpose.  Ever wonder how many times you could have been a blessing in the life of someone else; instead you became a stumbling block? I can think of several times in my life and I suspect when I get to the other side I will discover many more missed opportunities.

Until next time,
Sandra

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:2-3

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God is not Deaf

  1. carol fiola says:

    Sandra, I miss you my friend. Have been reading Heaven by Joni Tada. Just prepeping for the bible study. Very good insight as to what is awaiting for us there. But so much to do to get us ready. I really need to get busy. Thank you for your time spent with me. I look forward to when we can get back on schedule. Hope you are feeling better.

    Like

  2. I don’t like to spend time thinking about missed opportunities because of my disobedience. That takes up an enormous amount of time! I would rather think of how God has poured out His mercy in spite of my sinfulness and has brought “beauty from ashes.” I used to think if I sinned one more time that God would place me on a shelf forever. Now I know that He continues to sanctify us in the midst of all we have done to make us into who He intends us to be.

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Isn’t it wonderful to know we are always forgiven no matter what or how many times we blow it. Praise God He does not demand perfection; simply a willing surrendered heart!

      Thanks for taking time out to share your thoughts. Always appreciate them.

      Like

  3. carol fiola says:

    Sandra, Thank you so much for this insight. I always think when I am reading, ” Oh so and so should read this.” But I must quit pointing my finger at someone else and turn it around to myself. You are a blessing to me from God.

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Carol, it is always here to look at the log in some one else’s eye. To see the log in our eyes we have to look in the mirror. I do not know about you, but I avoid mirrors ;). Thanks for sharing

      Like

  4. Kathie says:

    Again Sandra I have very sore toes and am walking around gingerly. You managed to land on both of my feet. How do you always know what I need to hear at when I need to heat it? Could it be a God thing? Keep it up gal, I love you Kathie

    Like

Leave a Reply

