Life – but a Breath

“… Each man’s life is but a breath.”

In preparation for a study on Heaven, I’m reading Randy Alcorn’s book “Heaven”. In the introduction, he gives a wonderful example of what it means to have our life but a breath. “Picture a single breath escaping your mouth on a cold day and dissipating into the air. Such is the brevity of life here.” I live where the temperatures are typically 60 and above, therefore, I’m really stretching my imagination. 🙂

I tend to think this life will last forever, yet I know that’s not true. What in my life Breathingwould change if I truly believed the concept and understood the depth of meaning which says my life here is but a breath; simply a moment in time?

Great question to ponder. How about you?

  • What in your life would change?

Would love to hear your thoughts – please leave a comment.

“Show me, O Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Each man’s life is but a breath.” Psalm 39:4–5

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life – but a Breath

  1. Sandra says:

    I ‘m right there with ya. Hard to grasp. Yet how freeing it would be to truly grasp and live out our lives with such understanding. Thank you for taking time to comment. Appreciate you.

    Like

  2. carol fiola says:

    Like everything else Sandra when looking ahead it seems like time is going slow. When looking back we ask ourselves, where did the time go? I can’t put my mind around the breath of life. It continues to show me how awesome my God is. I will never know the depth of what He does until I do reach Heaven…my real home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

