Hey Dummy….

Proverbs 8:1 – “Does not wisdom call out? Does not understanding raise her voice?” this on the heels of Proverbs, chapter 7, where adultery is laid out in its entire splendor. I couldn’t help but chuckle just a little.  Not at the scene itself, but in the way Solomon puts the words, “Does not wisdom call out?” It’s as if he is saying “Hey, dummy! Did you not hear the little voice in your head which said, “No, don’t do it?”

How many times in my life have I heard the voice of wisdom, and ignored it? I can tell you this, too many!  In verse 6 the voice of wisdom goes on to say, “Listen, for I have worthy things to say, I open my lips to speak what is right. My mouth speaks what is true”. Too many times I think I know what’s best.  Or even worse perhaps, are the times I hear her voice, and ignore it.  Those are the times I get myself into sooo much trouble. If I could only turn back the hands of time; if only I had heeded Wisdom’s call.

wisdoms callThere are no easy solutions to gaining wisdom.  We learn wisdom through life experiences, reading the Word and practice in hearing the voice of wisdom.  As we learn and read the Word of God we  begin to understand better His character and what He requires of us; His children. Every child knows its father’s or mother’s voice.  In a crowd if dad speaks or calls, the child knows instantly his father’s voice and comes running. I desire to know my heavenly Father’s voice among all the others vying for my attention; some very loudly. I want to know without doubt and with confident assurance be able to respond with, “Hey that’s my Dad!!!

The first step is hearing and recognizing but we cannot stop there. It is not enough to hear, we must respond with a surrendered obedient heart.  In a nutshell, this, is the greater challenge, at least for me – responding in obedience. It all comes down to learning with our mind, seeing with our eyes, and responding with our heart.  In other words, as we learn to hear the voice of God, as we learn to trust in that voice, we then can respond with obedience.  The more we respond, the more we learn, the more we trust, the easier obedience becomes.  My goal is to do this so well it becomes my natural bent and character; now this is a goal worth shooting for.

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey Dummy….

  1. Sandra says:

    Carol I love that song. When we sing this song in church my heart is truly praying every word. Thanks for the kind words – I love writing – I am extremely glad someone enjoys reading what I write.

    Like

  2. carol fiola says:

    There is a song that I love called, “Open the Eyes of my Heart Lord. I want to see you.” I too also want to hear Him as if he was standing next to me. Love your writings Sandra. It is comforting to read that so many of us go through the same struggles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

