If My People

2 Chronicles 7:14 – one of my favorite passages – “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land”; an answer to prayer (see vs. 12). Due to the context of the passage this answer to prayer as specific to Solomon and God’s chosen people; Israel. I hope and pray promise could hold true for us today.

Our world, our land, could certainly use some healing. We have become so full of ourselves. We think we know it all. We’re very independent. Every major country it seems has similar problems. Oh, the situations change, the leadership style’s different, yet, when you look at the core issues, “There is nothing new under the sun” Ecclesiastes 1:9. It’s world-wide not just our nation.

prayer-warriorMany in our nation feel helpless and hopeless. We need not! Change begins with us. With you! With me!

  1. Humble themselves – Humility – easy definition – everything is not about you or me it is about God 1st and others 2nd. Humility is about surrendering ego and perceived rights for the benefit of others.
  2. Pray – Funny thing about prayer – I tend to pray from my perspective. I wonder what would happen if I prayed from God’s? Daniel in chapter 9 prayed an awesome and sincere prayer for the nation. Great example for us today.
  3. Seek my face – Many of us read our Bibles; some every day. But do we truly “seek the face of God” What does it mean to seek the face of God. Honestly I’m not sure – I suspect it means much more than mere reading. (I see a future blog 🙂
  4. Turn from their wicked/evil ways – Okay now we are getting personal. I don’t know about you but I never think of myself as evil. The Hebrew definition of the word, evil is not near as menacing as our English definition. The Hebrew word used here is raʿ (Rah); bad or (as noun) evil (natural or moral) :- adversity, affliction, bad, calamity, + displease (-ure), distress, evil ([-favouredness], man, thing), + exceedingly, × great, grief (-vous), harm, heavy, hurt (-ful), ill (favoured), + mark, mischief (-vous), misery, naught (-ty), noisome, + not please, sad (-ly), sore, sorrow, trouble, vex, wicked (-ly, -ness, one), worse (-st), wretchedness, wrong. Brings new meaning to the words wicked and evil; I may be a wee bit more evil than I desire to acknowledge.

How easy to gloss over those words: pray, humble, turn and seek. Nation healing is God’s department, but it might begin with me. It just might begin with you too.

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 2 Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

