Get Thee Behind Me!!!

I find myself going down memory lane lately; kind of replaying my life. And trust me, it’s not flashing before my eyes – it’s slowly meandering along. It’s kind of funny really, while doing some household chore the name of a friend with whom I’ve lost contact will pop into my head. I remember our time spent together and I wonder where they are and what course has their live traveled? With the invention of Facebook I managed to locate one; we are just beginning the process of reconnecting, how fun!

As I look back over my life some things fill me with sadness. If I had the opportunity to go back in time a few things I would do differently; some I would even erase. For the most part I would leave most of my past untouched; to stand on its own merit; the good the bad and the ugly, as God has redeemed and continues to redeem those not so good choices in my life. It is truly amazing.

Devil whispersUnfortunately, the devil brings the good the bad and the ugly to mind in an attempt to convince me God has not redeemed those things. Satan’s extremely busy today bringing to mind all those “if only I hadn’t _______” memories. When he does this my life has no peace and my thoughts head towards ruination; I’ve ruined my life and possibly the lives of those with whom I’ve come in contact. I know that’s not true. In those moments, however, truth is not reigning! God brought me to Titus; Titus 3:3-8a, “At one time, we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, becoming hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having a hope of eternal life. This is a trustworthy saying. And I want you to stress these things…” The apostle Paul wrote this letter to Titus. Like me, Paul had done some pretty awful things in his life. Yet, God redeemed Paul’s life in almost miraculous ways.

Almost everyone I’ve met wishes parts of their life could have a redo. We can acknowledge those things, but we must be careful not to stay in those thoughts. The devil would have us wallow in the shoulda, woulda, coulda’s of our lives. God would have us think upon the renewal, the free gift we have through his son Jesus. God would have us remember we’re justified by His grace and to remember God’s in the redeeming business – His work is not finished yet.

Until next time,
Sandra

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me – put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Titus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Thee Behind Me!!!

  1. charlee14 says:

    Sandra,
    Today you hit me right between the eyes. I have been in my self pity, shouldda, couldda, shouldda, depressed, poor me, pity party. But I think I am getting better with calling on my God to get me out of it. The devil is working overtime in my life because I am working overtime in my Jesus. I am going to fight for the right to be in heaven. Doing what I can to stay focused. I know it is an everyday task, but isn’t it a blessing that Jesus is always there? Thank you for your words of wisdom and just knowing that there are other people out there like me.

    Like

  2. Linda Hall says:

    Ah…memory lane. Was just there when I read your blog today and some “old” friends’ names popped into my head too. Since our move to AZ away from my long-time closest friends that occurrence happens frequently. FB can be a blessing (sometimes) to reconnect. Not the same as in person tho:-( The rest of the blog was profound too. Just finished reading another Karen Kingsbury book and those always make me think about my life and how I handle(d) situations in the past and now. Glad for your reminder that His work is not finished yet Grace and peace to you, dear friend. Keep listening to Him and writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

