Shut My Mouth!

The Proverbs of Solomon have a wealth of wisdom.  I know some who have difficulty reading the Proverbs for they seem repetitive and redundant. I find encouragement in the Proverbs.  I see them as words to live by and filled with great wisdom for building godly character. I will often ask God while reading a chapter to show me those areas in which my character might need a little bit of tweaking.  The Proverbs, like all of God’s Word, become alive with treasures unique to me and my life.

When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise.” Proverbs 10:19

How many times I have thought “If only I had kept my mouth shut!” or “Sandra, when are you ever going to learn?” My mouth can get me into a great amount of distress and trouble.  I don’t mean for it too, it just does.  I was raised in a family which enjoys sarcastic humor. I can lay out a zinger without hesitation or a moment’s notice.  Interestingly enough I really, really, have no desire to zing anyone or use hateful, hurtful words.  I hate sarcasm! It does nothing to build a person up and only serves to hurt. Yet, I manage to zing at the most inopportune times; as if there is ever a good time.  When I am in a group of people who tend shut upto use sarcasm (when words are many) I really need to be on my toes in order to keep my tongue quiet.  During these times it’s easy to lose track of one’s mouth. In those very moments I should think thrice and remember silence might be the better part of valor.

Other times my tongue simply engages itself before the brain has had time to catch on. Those are the times when I ask a rather dumb question or make a very insensitive statement in an attempt at humor.  And, then there are those times when my desire is to be helpful, encouraging and supportive and realize I said something totally opposite, as I look up to see a very wounded look on the face of the person I had hope to comfort?

  • “Wisdom is found on the lips of the discerning…”  Proverbs 10: 13  
  • “The tongue of the righteous is choice silver…” Proverbs 10: 20
  • “The lips of the righteous nourish many…”  Proverbs 10:21
  • “The mouth of the righteous brings forth wisdom…” Proverbs 10:31

I prefer my words would be discerning, choice silver, nourishing and rooted in wisdom.  I can accomplish this as I surrender my thoughts and actions to the leading of the Holy Spirit. As I immerse myself in God’s Word  the result will be-positive and goodness in – positive and goodness out to others. Of course choosing to think not once, not twice but 3 times before opening mouth will definitely help.

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shut My Mouth!

  1. Julie Garro says:

    Oh I can so relate to this post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

  2. carol fiola says:

    I admire you with all the thoughts you have in your head to comfort, advise and full of wisdom for me when I need you, or ask you. That far out ways being sarsastic. It just humbles us when we know that there is always room for improvement.=0)

    Like

Leave a Reply

