Preparing for Rain

Perhaps many of you have heard of the parable preparing for rain. “There were two farmers who desperately needed rain, and both of them prayed for rain. But only one of them went out and prepared his fields to receive it.  Which one do you think trusted God to send the rain; the answer the one who prepared his fields for it?”

Philemon 22, “And one thing more: prepare a guest room for me, because I hope to be restored to you in answer to your prayers.” Paul wrote this letter to Philemon while in prison in Rome. Paul was trusting God to provide. No one knew if Paul would ever be released. In faith and trust Paul was preparing for the day of his release, a.k.a. he prepared for rain.

I love the story of the 2 farmers. This story reminds us faith is an action word. Waiting is a verb. In other words, trusting God doesn’t mean I sit around and “wait” for something to happen.  It means I get busy about the task at hand and prepare my field, whatever that may be, for God to deliver.

plowed fieldYou may not be a farmer and you may not have a literal field to prepare. Your field might be a struggle with finances, a sour marriage, a health challenge, new job, etc.

My question for you today, “Where or what, in your life are you needing to do to begin to prepare your “field” for rain?”

By the way, the story about 2 farmers is not a parable (a simple story used to illustrate a moral or spiritual lesson, as told by Jesus in the gospels). It’s simply a story. You will not find it in the Bible. It comes from a scene in the movie, “Facing the Giants.”

Here is the conversation/story line in context from the movie:

Mr. Bridges shares the story:There were two farmers who desperately needed rain, and both of them prayed for rain. But only one of them went out and prepared his fields to receive it. 

Mr. Bridges: Which one do you think trusted God to send the rain?

Coach Taylor: the one who prepared his fields for it?”

Mr. Bridges: Which one are you? God will send the rain when He is ready. You need to prepare your field to receive it.

If you have not seen the movie I highly recommend it.  I have included a link for a YouTube clip below.

Until next time,
Sandra

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAxwS8KyMQQ

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Parables, Philemon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Preparing for Rain

  1. carol fiola says:

    Well I don’t know if this is the same as preparing for the rain but I wanted to share something that brought me around to what Jesus was telling me. I went to the grocery store with my daughter, it was time for her to shop for her food (she has a budget and gets to pick out what she wants to eat). I was shopping for Bill as he is on a special diet. (second order) and then for myself. (third order). My daughter had to have drama while putting her order on the moving belt, going over her budget and distracting me. The second order was also a distraction, dealing with drama of daughter and very talkative checker. Both orders I ran my rewards card to get the discounts. My order, I hand picked to get the best prices. Paid the man and went home with my drama queen and food in car.
    For two days it bothered me that my order came to the same price as my daughter and she had more food than I did. Couldn’t find the receipt to see what happened. Of all times for this to happen when money is tight this month. Two days later it hit me…I didn’t run the card for the discounts, I paid full price for being distracted. I wanted to blame the checker for not asking for my card. I wanted to blame my daughter for being so dramatic. (She really enjoys shopping for herself and planning her meals). But Jesus touched my heart, it was my fault for not paying attention, for being drawn in a different direction, for not being intentional with the task at hand. How many times does the devil distract us from Jesus? All the drama in this world to distract us from learning the scriptures, witnessing to others, bringing people to Christ, serving a unconditional loving God?
    We need to pay more attention to the matter at hand, prepare for the rain, look up, Jesus is coming soon.

    Like

    • Thank you Carol for sharing your testimony. I just watched the movie Facing the Giants tonight at my parents house and wondered what that story meant. I felt like God was trying to speak to me through this parable in the movie. I have been facing some struggles myself and asked God on my way home what it meant for me to prepare my fields for His rain to help me through my struggles until He rains. I believe He wants toblessmeandworkthingsout for me and I believe He is faithful to work things out on my behalf and for His glory. I know that I am not facing my giants alone. Anyhow, your reply to this post was helpful. Thank you again.

      Like

  2. Marian says:

    So very true, we pray for something and then are surprised when it happens when we should be surprised when it doesn’t happen. I love that movie too.

    Like

  3. Linda Hall says:

    Just watched Facing the Giants because of you — I’d forgotten how good it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

