Wonderful Peace

“A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones” Proverbs 14:30. Long before doctors equated illness to stressful lives, wise Solomon knew.

Due to today’s hectic and fast paced world peace often eludes. The world tells us we need, need, need and therefore we want, want, want. There’s no peace found in wanting and being envious of others good fortune. True peace, the peace God provides, is a component of Holy Spirit Fruit.  We are unable to produce this in our own merit, it must be cultivated by the Holy Spirit.

I often think I can bring peace into my life by shutting out the world and having my environment quiet and less hectic. Complete peace is not found in circumstances or surroundings; it comes from deep within and is evident when life around us is crazy; yet… we experience complete calm and rest internally and externally.  We nurture Holy Spirit Peace when we rest in God and what He has to offer rather than worry about what the world says we need.

I am reminded of a refrain from an old hymn – “Peace, peace wonderful peace, peace coming down from the father above. Sweep over my spirit forever, I pray, in fathomless billows of love.” [1]

A heart at peace gives life to the body…

Until next time,
Shalom


[1] Wonderful Peace – text by W.D. Cornell, altered
Music by W. G. Cooper

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wonderful Peace

  1. I have to be careful that my peace does not become my isolation. It is real easy for me to withdraw and have my peace, not get involved, no worries. This was not healthy for me. Then I met a lady at church who showed an interest and became my friend. She said we are made for relationships. We are not to be alone, isolated, away from everyone. But this had been my peace for a couple of years. I didn’t trust anyone anymore. I only needed to think about myself, no worries, no problems. Only I also was not happy with God or myself, I really didn’t have peace as God wanted me to experience. Since that time God has been healing me, through scripture and with the people He put in my life. The first step was to trust God, find a church and get involved. So many blessings have come my way and I have a different peace, this one is healthy. Oh it is still a journey that I am on and sure it will have its bumps in the road. But I try every day for God to be the driver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

