A Crown to the Aged

“Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children.” Proverbs 17:6

I thought about our grandchildren, oh how we delight in them. How are they a crown to us – the aged ones? For fun, I looked up the meaning of crown. A crown is the traditional symbol or headgear worn by a king, queen or monarch (we all pretty much knew this one). There’s more… the wearing of a crown represents power, legitimacy, victory and honor. In the case of Christ the crown represents all this, plus immortality, righteousness, triumph, resurrection, glory, and life after death.

purple crownGrandchildren do represent immortality as part of us continues to live on genetically in their DNA. We’re honored when they model our lives in the legacy we leave behind. Our grandchildren represent legitimacy to our name especially the males who carry on the name for future generations. Perhaps the most important part of what the crown represents is the life after death. As grandchildren come to know Jesus, hopefully and prayerfully by our examples, they will share in the gift of eternal life promised to all who come to recognize Christ as Lord.

Do I hear a WOW!

What about the last part of this verse; the part which says, “Parents are the pride of their children”? I couldn’t help but wonder how many parents fall short of this one. I can only speak for me. I know there are times I have let my son and step-daughter down. Actions of which I’m not proud; many I wish I could undo. I have asked for forgiveness. Now that I’m older (notice I didn’t say aged) I pray I’m a source of pride to my son and step-daughter; someone they’re proud to call MOM 

Until next time
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Aging, Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

