Zeal – It’s a Good Thing

“It is not good to have zeal without knowledge, nor to be hasty and miss the way.” Proverbs 19:2

Can I ever relate to this one!  All too often I get a brain storm and I’m off and running; when a little knowledge gathering first might would be the wiser course of action.  I get so excited about a project or idea that in my exuberance for “whatever” I totally miss the way.

If I couple verse 2 with verse 20 “Listen to advice and accept instruction and in the end you will be wise”, I just might get further faster with a lot more excellence.  I wouldn’t spend time going backwards cleaning up chaos created in my exuberance.

Zeal’s good when it’s tempered with godly knowledge.

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zeal – It’s a Good Thing

  1. Sandra,
    Does this also go with the tongue? Sometimes we speak before we gain knowledge of what we are talking about. My friend caught me on this Wednesday, when I was talking without knowledge and had not even taken the time to do my research, just going off of what everyone else was saying.
    I am praying that I have learned a lesson this week that will stay with me for a life time.
    Blessings!!!

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I guess this would go with the tongue as well. Sometimes we think we have attained the truth and then discover later we have not. Sometimes we have attained the truth but only one side of the truth. In my many years I am learning worldly truth often has two sides to a coin. Some things we face have many sides and many perspectives and we are often affected by others decisions. Sometimes those decision help me and hurt others and sometimes they help others and hurt me. The political climate is strained, the economic climate is pushing on all sides with many losing jobs, health benefits and the cost of food and gas rising with every trip to the grocery store or gas station.

      Our world is in such a state of confusion and chaos it is easy to lose sight that God has the answers and is still on the throne. If we continue to look to Him, who is our hope, we will not necessarily have the answers or solutions we seek but we can have peace in the midst.

      Great question— thanks for sharing.

      Hugs

      Like

  2. Kathie says:

    Sandra, you sure know what my weakness’ are. Those are might good words today.
    You might have a little bit of Solomon in you gal. Love you, Kathie

    Like

Leave a Reply

