What’s in a Name

“A good name is more desirable than great riches; to be esteemed is better than silver or gold.” Proverbs 22:1

In our world today it appears a good name holds no particular value. Its become more about riches; having more, getting more and having more than anyone else.  It would seem how you acquire the wealth is not an issue. If one acquires wealth through stealing, cheating, selfish gain, or dishonest dealings, often all they receive in the form of consequence is a slap on the wrist; with not a thought of restitution for the victims. This bumper sticker sums it up well, “The one who dies with the most toys, wins”.

God’s Word tells us differently. Solomon states a good name is more desirable than great riches; this from a man who amassed a great deal of wealth.

I would like to think I have a good reputation among my friends and fellow peers. I would like to think they see me as a woman of integrity and honesty, who cares and loves deeply. I hope the legacy I leave behind will consist of great wealth; not earthly, but godly wealth.

If I die without a penny to my name and it can be said of me by God, family and others, “Sandra had a heart for God” than I shall have died with the greatest wealth of all!

Until next time,

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a Name

  1. Kathie says:

    AMEN! Well said Sandra. Kathie

    Like

Leave a Reply

