Prayer Today Affects Tomorrow

The Temple’s complete and the Ark’s resting in its place of honor. What a glorious day for the chosen people of God.  In celebration King Solomon prays a prayer of dedication.  There’s much to consider in his prayer.  For today let’s focus on 1 Kings 8:33-34 and 46-53.  (I have not included the whole passage due to space limitations – I encourage you to read all of the passage). Solomon prays, “When your people Israel have been defeated by an enemy because they have sinned against you, and when they turn back to you and confess your name, praying and making supplication… then hear from heaven and forgive the sin of your people…. And if they turn back to you with all their heart and soul in the land of their enemies who took them captive… then from Heaven your dwelling place, hear their prayer and their plea and cause their conquerors to show them mercy; ….

From history we know the Israelites turned their back on God and as a result found themselves in captivity in Babylon. For many years they were scattered throughout numerous cities. They eventually confess their sin and turn back towards God. Merciful and forgiving God full of grace, forgave them; once again freeing them from captivity.

Place yourself in the later years of captivity recognizing your sin and turning to God and experiencing His deliverance first hand – – – – only to learn many generations and years earlier a great and wise king prayed for the very circumstance where you now find yourself. What would you think? How would you feel?

Praying - Never stopMany years ago when I considered tracing my family tree I discovered my great-great-grandfather was a Christian.  Since none of my family are believers I found this exciting; even if it was several generations earlier.  I remember, vividly, calling a friend sharing my joyful news and saying, “Just think … just think, my great-great-grandfather may have prayed for his future generations to come to know the Lord. Me, me, he could have prayed for me! His prayers may be the reason I, his great-great-granddaughter, became a follower of Christ”.  Wow, just imagine!

The generations of Israel had no need to wonder, as the prayer of Solomon has been preserved for all generations past, present and future.

Are you praying for your future generations?  As the saying goes, “Couldn’t Hurt” 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Prayer Today Affects Tomorrow

  1. Carol Bootsey Fiola says:

    Still Praying!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol Smith says:

    Hi Sandra, I just read your message. I do believe that past generations pray for us. I remember my grandma praying on her knees each night by her bed. She also told me my greatgrandma was also a believer in Christ and prayed. Sometimes we get to thinking that prayers don’t help but I do believe in them. I always pray for my children and grandchildren, They are not walking with the Lord but I feel God will open their hearts someday if I keep praying to God to change their hearts. I do know my granddaughter finally turned to the Lord 2 years ago and is very on fire for the Lord. Praise God. Keep coming swith your blogs. Your friend in Christ. Carol Smith

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      Carol,
      Thank you for these words of confirmation. It can be hard to keep on praying when one does not see the results hoped for. It is at those times I must remember they have the free will to choose or not. But I need to keep-on-keeping on in prayer. I will do my best to keep the blogs a-coming. So glad you enjoy them.

      Like

  3. Linda Hall says:

    Timely and convicting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      Linda, even though I wrote this, I too was convicted to pray more for those in my family and those in my line yet to be born. Thanks for taking time to comment. Comments always encourage this writer’s heart.

      Like

  4. Sandra says:

    Reblogged this on Through the Bible Together and commented:

    Past Blog Friday. This blog was written 2 years ago today. Hope you enjoy.
    Feel free to share if you enjoy.

    Like

  5. I don’t know if anyone in my past family were Christians. They were Catholics and Prespertarians.
    But the relationships we have now with Jesus, I don’t know. It is hard to speak for them because I could be wrong and that would not be right. So I can only hope they had a loving relationship with our Lord. And I will continue to pray for the future generations. Thank you for the thought process you put me in with just a few of your questions/statements.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jack Bass says:

    Hi Sandra, your story reminds me of my grandparents, I know that on my mothers side they were Christians, most of my current family that I know of are not believers, maybe that is why I am a believer and will try to remember to pray for any future generations. I know of a great great uncle who used to write poems expressing his faith.
    I love your teaching it gives me things to think on and helps me remember things in my own life that relate to your teaching.
    God Bless
    Marian

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      Thank you Jack, your kind words touch my soul. Comforting to think they may have prayed for a future nephew isn’t it? To know you will get to meet your Great-Grand Uncle in Heaven some day, something which without Christ would never be possible! Incredible to ponder; it certainly is 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

