Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!

Solomon’s prayer of dedication for the Temple in 1 Kings Chapter 8 is a wonderful example of prayer.  You could easily spend an entire Bible lesson, or two, on just this one prayer – it’s power-packed.  I would like to focus on the phrase “hear from heaven”.  The phrase appears 7 times in this chapter; verses 30, 32, 34, 36, 39, 43, 45, 49 (New International Version).  Solomon grasped what no one else understood. Solomon knew God would come and meet with the Israelites in the temple, yet His home, God’s dwelling place, would remain in Heaven. Once again we witness the wisdom and insight which Solomon possessed. Many believed God would dwell permanently within the Temple. Solomon recognized the deity of God and knew Heaven God’s dwelling place would remain in Heaven.

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!The temple has since been destroyed. Yet, God continues to meet with His children. God is with us 24/7 through the gift of His Holy Spirit which comes to dwell within each believer at the time of Baptism.

“Chew” on this for a moment – the Holy Spirit literally takes up residence within us – we are the temple in which God chooses to dwell.  We have no need to wait for special days, as in the Old Testament, to meet with Him. A priest does not need to enter the Temple to intercede and atone for our sins. God’s speaks to our mind and heart; we need only be still and listen. We have a direct link.

I don’t know about you, but I find this totally, and completely….   I just can’t seem to find the word, therefore, I will simply say…  Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!  Mary Poppins always says we should use this word when we absolutely can’t come up with a word to describe what we are thinking or feeling 🙂  Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious seems to fit. Knowing God is with me intimately, up close and personal, 24/7. Yep, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious … indoubedely. 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

“Lord, the God of Israel, there is no God like you in heaven above or on earth below—you who keep your covenant of love with your servants who continue wholeheartedly in your way. ” 1 Kings 8:23

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!

  1. Sandra, This is once again perfect timing. Just when I start to wonder, where is the Holy Spirit? Your message reminds me that through being born again, I received the Holy Spirit! God is in charge of my life. I just don’t always listen to Him when he wants me to. God is good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

