The Meaning of Life

“I denied myself nothing my eyes desired; I refused my heart no pleasure. My heart took delight in all my work, and this was the reward for all my labor. Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done, and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.” Ecclesiastes 2:10-11

Every Generation tends to rely on themselves and their own abilities. They chase after the things of the world; wealth, prestige, power and position. The Teacher, the author of the book of Ecclesiastes (most likely- King Solomon) possessed all this and more; yet, he wisely took time to contemplate the value of these pursuits. He discovered when “push came to shove” none of them mattered.

“What does man gain from all his labor at which he toils under the sun?” Ever stop and ask yourself the question, “Why, and for what am I straining so hard to gain? I have. As a result of asking that very question my life took on new direction; my life needed to be lived more for eternity. I made some changes; one or two were pretty drastic from a world view. I have not regretted a moment. That’s not to say I never asked the question, “Why did I do this” from time-to-time, or make the statement, “I must be crazy to consider doing _____”. Regrets – no! I would make those changes all over again; and many of them sooner in life.

OpusMeaningOfLifeI made the commitment to ask myself the why question once a year and to reevaluate where I am spending my energies. Do they line up with my goal of eternal purpose and perspective?

The wisdom at the very core of the Book of Ecclesiastes is the same wisdom we must convey to others as they question the meaning of life. Only a life centered on God has true meaning, purpose and joy – everything else is simply chaff blowing in the wind.

May I encourage you today to ask the hard question and then go before God in prayer? You too, might find a whole new life ahead – a life filled with more purpose and meaning then you ever imagined. Don’t be afraid – with God at your side it will be worth the risk. Just ask Peter 🙂

Until next time
Sandra

“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”
“Come”, he said.
Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. Matthew 14:28-29

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Ecclesiastes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Meaning of Life

  1. Linda Hall says:

    Good one again, (of course). Funny thing: I accidently clicked on the ad at the bottom of the page (mistakenly thinking it was something you added) and it was a McDonald ad for their Big Mac. Their promo theme was “Think with your Mouth”. I laughed cuz I do that too much. And it sorta went with your message about what’s meaningful and the meaning behind why we do things. Thanks, McDonalds, for reminding me what NOT to do: “Think with my mouth!” …uh… as I sit here at the computer eating while typing:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

