Something new in Proverbs

Reading through Proverbs can seem tedious, redundant and boring. Then out of nowhere I’ll catch something which really speaks to me, or something I had not taken notice of before.  Those times remind me the words in the Bible are chosen words; not random, without purpose or meaning. It is God who chooses when and what I will discover.

In reading Proverbs 25 I find myself filled with questions (not unusual I know) 🙂 🙂 proverbs2“These are more proverbs of Solomon, copied by the men of Hezekiah, king of Judah:” Who is King Hezekiah? Why would he have his men copy the proverbs (sayings) of Solomon? Where were the sayings of Solomon stored? Did they copy all the sayings or just those in this chapter? How many years between Solomon and King Hezekiah? Was Hezekiah a godly king or just one who recognized wise sayings when he read them? If Hezekiah’s men only copied chapter 25, how did the book of Proverbs come about? My mind’s filled with questions of wonder.

I may find the answers to my questions quickly. Other times require further study and research. Some questions will be answered as I continue reading.  “God’s Word is alive and active today.”  How can that be?  It becomes alive and active each time we read and discover new treasures and solve new puzzles as questions are answered. The Words written thousands of years ago, are filled with timeless wisdom.

neonFor a year or two I read a Proverb chapter a day, meaning I read the entire book of Proverbs 12 times in a year; I doubled up on chapters 30 and 31 when needed.  In all those times of reading, I never took notice of verse 1 in chapter 25.  I read right over the transcribing of Proverbs chapter 25, by King Hezekiah’s men. Now it’s a flashing neon sign.

My prayer for you today – “Lord, in your Son’s most precious name, I ask, as fellow seekers read the Word of God, for the first time or for the millionth time, will you provide an avenue whereby Your Word becomes active and alive in their life. Lord, I pray for all those who seek, for my fellow-readers, family and friends.” AMEN

deadseascrollsAsk the Holy Spirit to open your eyes to the treasures, the nuggets to be discovered which you might miss along the way. There’s much to be explored – much to be discovered.  You only need to ask.

Time to go – I have some treasures to discover.
Until next time – Happy reading – Wishing you many “Neon” words. 🙂

Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something new in Proverbs

  1. Carol Robbins says:

    I love the things you share!! Makes us “think” thru on the things you write and to try to fulfill any challenges you present to help us grow spiritually. Thank you for all you share to the glory of the Lord!! Love and hugs to a special lady!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

