As for Me and My House…..

1 Kings 18:21 “…How long will you waver between two opinions? If the Lord is God, follow him; but if Baal is God, follow him”.  This verse reminds me of the passage in Joshua when Joshua says something very similar “But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.” Joshua 14:15

We all have a choice of whom we will serve; of whom we will bow down to worship. And believe it or not, there are only 2 choices; we can choose to serve God or we can choose to serve the Prince of Darkness, Satan himself. A person cannot choose to serve neither – it’s not an option.  Although many think it’s an option.  Just so we’re clear… if you do not choose God then by default you choose Satan.  Sadly, for those who think they can remain on the fence and be non-committal about the whole thing, their choice does not work in reverse.  If they don’t choose Satan, they don’t choose God by default.  Choosing God must be a proactive choice, a commitment which says, “God, I choose You!” I choose to have You as the overseer of my life.  I choose You, Lord, to have control and I choose You as the one I will serve and devote my life too!

1 Kings 18-21The bottom line is very clear, and it doesn’t take pages to state or explain.  It’s stated very well, by the prophet Elijah and again by Joshua… “How long will you waiver – – – – – then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…”

The question of the day, “Whom are you choosing?”

I, like Joshua, say “As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Joshua and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As for Me and My House…..

  1. Marian says:

    Well said. Amen and we will serve The Lord too”

    Like

  2. Kathie says:

    Again Sandra, this is another big AMEN!. Lord Jesus I choose you. Kathie

    Like

Leave a Reply

