Glory and Joy

“For what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you? Indeed, you are our glory and joy.  
1 Thessalonians 2:19-20

These words written by the Apostle Paul to fellow believers in Thessalonica had me questioning several areas in my Spiritual walk this morning. I wondered what or who is my glory and joy. For the Apostle Paul and the other disciples it was those who came to know Christ as Lord and Savior. Those, who after Paul and the Apostles shared the story of Jesus and what his death on the cross means, became believers in the Lord Jesus Christ. There is a saying which goes something like this; some believers will plant seeds (this happens through the sharing of God’s word and his plan of saving grace to others). Some believers will water (these are those who come along and share more of Jesus with non-believers and help their faith grow). Some believers will harvest (these are those who close the deal, so to speak. These are those believers who get to see the glorious fruit of Jesus take root in a person’s life leading them to acceptance of Jesus followed by baptism).

Glory and Joy editedI couldn’t help but wonder, in the scheme of things, “What is my glory and joy”? Would I be considered a seed planter, a grower, or a harvester; or none of the above? In reading this passage my heart saddened as the realization hit; none of the above is reflected strongly in my life.

Then a whisper…. it was the voice of the Holy Spirit; “What else did Paul and the other Apostles do?” “Silence”… then, “Does the word disciple come to mind?” Paul and the other Apostles not only “evangelized” others, they came alongside and taught them in spiritual knowledge helping them grow in the Word of God. They encouraged them in their day-to-day walk (discipleship) and helped both new believers and those who had believed for several years, through tough spiritual times. Because Paul and the Apostles primary mission, calling, and divine giftedness was evangelism (sharing the good news of Jesus Christ with others) they trained other believers to fulfill the mission of growing new believers to a deeper faith.

My glory and joy is being able to share both face-to-face and through my writings the hope and promise found in following Jesus. To search out the scriptures and share the word of God in such a way a believer is challenged in their walk. To teach a believer how to search out Scripture for themselves and discover Jesus and all He has to offer. My talents/gifts lay in being an encourager to others through the Word of God. You my readers and friends are my glory and joy.

My hope is you always are blessed by what you read here.

Time to “chew”: What’s your glory and joy? Are you fulfilling the role for which God gifted you?

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Thessalonians and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

