What Does God See – Part 2

In my last blog,I discussed King Solomon’s rise and fall; how Solomon had walked with God and then chose a path of outright disobedience. King David, Solomon’s dad, left his son an inheritance rich in faith. David had a heart for God. What might God have seen when He looked at the heart of David?

God sees the heart• David, a man full of kindness and compassion: We see this in the story of his care and provision of over 200 men who were too exhausted to go to battle for their wives, sons and daughter taken by the Amalekites. (1 Samuel 30)

• David, a man desiring to root out sin in his life: Psalm 139 – “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

• David, a man of prayer (2 Samuel 7:18-29) and of course there are many prayers of David’s put to song in the Book of Psalms.

• David, a man of faith in God: “The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” (Goliath) (Read 1 Samuel 17 for the full story)

• David, a man who trusted God: Psalm 21:7 -“For the King trusts in the Lord; through the unfailing love of the most high he (David) will not be shaken”. Psalm 28:7 -The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.

• David, a man full of praise: David, Israel’s singer of songs. (2 Samuel 23:1) The Psalms of David are full of praise – Psalm 24:7-10, “Lift up your heads, O you gate; be lifted up, you ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in. Who is this King of glory? The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle. Lift up your heads, O you gates; lift them up, you ancient doors that the King of glory may come in. Who is he, this King of glory? The Lord Almighty – he is the King of glory”

• David, a humble man: We see David’s humility in his dealings with King Saul, who sought to kill David to prevent David from taking the throne. (1 Samuel) David never took what was rightfully his nor did he seek to harm Saul. Not only do we see David’s humility, we see David, a patient man as he waits upon the Lord for the proper timing to become King of Israel.

• David, a man who desired to be obedient: Psalm 119:34-36 – “Give me understanding, and I will keep your law and obey it with all my heart.” Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight. Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain”.

• David, a man who loved God: Psalm 18:1 – “I love you, O Lord, my strength.

• David a man who understood and accepted God’s sovereignty: We see his understanding of God’s sovereignty in the story of David’s relationship with Bathsheba, his committing murder and the consequence of God taking his child. David prayed and fasted in the hopes God would change his mind. Once the decision was carried out David immediately got up, washed, changed his clothes and went to the house of the Lord to worship and praise God. (2 Samuel 12)

I’ve stated only 12 reasons why God may have referred to David as a man after God’s own heart. I wonder how many good character traits God sees in me. How about you? Do you think God might say, “__________ (your name here) a woman/man after my own heart”?

Until next time,
Sandra
“May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Character, Psalms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

