Confusing the Created with the Creator

Reflecting on Biblical healing Pt.4

Healing by angels is getting a lot of media attention these days.  A recent television guest shared how she began journaling as a means to work through a severe time of depression.  In one of those journaling sessions she became filled with an energy source which started her journey into “automatic writing”. Automatic writing’s a form of channeling. In this case it’s a way for angels to communicate to her, or through her, by a higher power. She believes we all have the ability to tap into this energy and to use it to heal our lives. She goes on to say, everybody has a group of spiritual beings who are available to assist us; we simply need to know which one to call on for our particular situation.

Healing lightThis same week I came across another person promoting “Angel Therapy” who provides the following three-step process for contacting our guardian angels:

1. Ask a question or state a request for help.
2. Stop, close your eyes, breathe and notice what happens next.
3. Do the action – Guardian Angels will often give you an action step to do as result of your question. For example, they may ask you to change your diet to live a healthier lifestyle.

Some believe communication with angels is a key to healing and the others believe angels help us connect with those who have passed on or crossed over. It is important to listen closely when people speak of healing from supernatural sources; in this case angels. At first I was intrigued by these two women’s stories and then I began to understand they’re completely by-passing God in the process. It is often hard, at first glance to discern the core of someone’s spiritual belief. However, if one listens long enough, one begins to learn the source or energy on which they rely. For example let’s compare the 3 step process outlined above, in light of my prayer life as a follower of Jesus Christ.

1. I often ask God questions or ask for help with the situation on my behalf, or on behalf of others. I journal almost every day and it is during these moments when I let my requests be known.
2. Journaling is a way for me to focus and quiet the world around me. After journaling my thoughts and requests I sit quietly. “Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10. As I sit quietly and listen I’m seeking God. I open my Bible and begin to read His Word. His Spirit often speaks to me through the Word but, he also speaks to me through thoughts or impressions. Yes, sometimes it’s a challenge to distinguish the voice of me, God, or other spiritual sources.  I’ve walked a long time with Jesus and as the Scripture says, “My sheep (meaning followers… That would be me) know my voice…” John 10:27.  Sometimes in order to hear clearly his voice I must sit awhile longer 🙂
3. God, through the Holy Spirit, often gives me steps to take. “If you love me, keep my commands. And I will ask the father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever – the Spirit of Truth” John 14:15.  When I’m completely surrendered to His will I take those steps… but often, my I wanna do it my way nature gets in the way.

You can clearly see the similarities. The difference is found in the source of the energy and whom one seeks. In my case it is 100%, God. “Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.” 1 John 4:1

What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.” Ecclesiastes 1:9. Since time began mankind has been seeking the supernatural, the divine. It’s a desire placed deep within us by our creator, God; placed there, so we might seek Him. When we place angels before God we in essence make them idols and potentially our focus of worship; both of which God warns against.

God may use angels to bring about healing or to interact in our lives in some way. I believe in angels. I believe angels are all around us. I believe angels interact with us. But, I never lose sight of the fact angels are there at God’s bidding and command, not mine.

Until next time,
Sandra

“Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize.” Colossians 2:18

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:14

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Colossians, Healing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confusing the Created with the Creator

  1. Marian Bass says:

    I thought you had gone off the deep end at the begging of your article but it made sense by the end. It was a good one it got my attention.

    Like

Leave a Reply

