Hemorrhaging for 12 Years – Miraculously Healed

Part 5 in the series: the Healings of Jesus

Breaking your ankle in 4 places is not something I would recommend ever, yet, that’s exactly what I did. I lay in bed one evening, shortly after the break, contemplating the series of articles on the healings of Jesus, begun only weeks earlier. That night and several nights following, the miracle of the lady who had bled for 12 weeks seemed to boldly find its way into my thoughts. This woman found healing by simply touching Jesus garment. I desire to be healed. Knowing I could use a miraculous healing, I prayed for such. Somewhere in the recesses of my mind I knew my healing would not come in divine, miraculous fashion. Was it doubt and unbelief or a simple knowing placed there by the Holy Spirit. I really don’t know. I have had surgery and am months away from complete restoration of my ankle. I’m trusting God is in the midst of all this and healing will happen, just not in the miraculous, supernatural arena. I know too, I am learning much by his design and in his time he will redeem all. I could not shake this miracle and wondered is it possible to touch Jesus garment today? This past week I took out my Bible and looked at the event which brought about this woman’s healing.

The passage indicates the woman had exhausted all her resources and had seen many doctors over the course of her 12 year battle with bleeding/hemorrhaging. The result- – -her condition only became worse. The woman fights the crowd with the thought, “If I can just touch his garment I will be healed.” With strong determination she reaches Jesus and touches his garment; immediately the bleeding stopped! The woman felt, in her body, she had been healed.
imageUpon the woman’s touch, Jesus, aware power has left him asks, “Who touched my clothes?” The disciples are baffled by such a question, the crowd is large with people pressing in on all sides (bumping room only). Jesus searched the crowd. The woman comes forward in fear and trembling and tells Jesus the whole truth. Jesus response, “Your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”
Items to notice:

  • We know nothing of the woman’s origin or backround. Is she a Gentile, a Jew, a Samaritan, or ???. The Scriptures do not reveal her identity.
  • The woman appears to have exhausted all human effort leaving No doubt her healing comes via supernatural, divine intervention at the hands of Jesus.
  • Determined the woman will not be swayed as she fights the multitudes to reach Jesus.
  • Upon touching the garment of Jesus her healing is immediate and complete.
  • The woman comes clean with Jesus and tells all truth. I suspect she shared her past 12 year journey, the hurts, trials and pains which brought her to such desperation and how she came to believe Jesus could provide healing.
  • Jesus commends her for her faith and confirms her healing. Jesus attributed her cure to her faith, not the mere touch of his clothing. There is nothing magical in her healing.  Faith’s value does not come from the one who expresses it, but from the object in this case the person, in which it rests.

We know the healing power is not found in the garment but in Jesus. Yet,  here we read she touched the garment and was healed. Nothing in the Bible is there by accident and all is relevant to today. Therefore, for several weeks I’ve chewed on what touching the garment would represent, or look like today. Obviously, we cannot physically touch Jesus or his garments. We can, however, enter into the presence of Jesus by faith, through prayer and reading His word. When the woman touched the garment of Jesus she entered into his presence and found the healing she longed to receive. Don’t miss this… the woman’s faith was not in the garment but in the healing power of the man himself, Jesus.

The Bible talks of having mustard seed size faith. This woman had watermelon size faith. I would love to know more about this woman. How did she learn about Jesus? How did she develop such deep faith? We see no doubt whatsoever in her faith to believe Jesus would bring healing. The nugget in this passage is the woman’s faith. Oh to possess such faith!

Until next time,
Sandra

“Have faith in God, Jesus answered.  “I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him.” Mark 11:22-23

See Mark 5:24-34 and Luke 8:40-48 for the miracle of the woman who touched Jesus garment.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Healing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hemorrhaging for 12 Years – Miraculously Healed

  1. Pingback: Hemorrhaging 12 Years – Part 2 | Through the Bible Together

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks Linda, I actually wrote this a year ago 🙂

    Like

  3. Linda Hall says:

    Well, how timely. Great insight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

